Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Latest Comments
Keldian - 2017 Blood Red ...
No, I'm changing my mind ...
Code Red - 2017 Heat Of T...
Yeah, I quite liked this,...
Midnite City - 2017 Summe...
Target - 1979 Taxman [yo...
Cher - 1982 Rudy [youtub...
Cher - 1982 Games [youtu...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Devi...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Head...
Neal Schon - 1989 Softly ...
Getting back into this al...
Neal Schon - 1989 The The...
Valentine - 1990 Where Ar...
Burns Sisters - 1989 Answ...
Distance - 1989 Speech Of...
Distance - 1989 Softly Sp...
Well her real name is Fra...
You must login to post a message.

19-11-2017 09:44
Burn (UK) will have their new album 'Ice Age' released in Japan via Marquee/Avalon on Nov 22. The album is then released worldwide on Jan 19th 2018 via Melodicrock Records.

19-11-2017 09:40
I was a bit cranky last week, waiting for various things to happen with the website transition. God it's good to be back. Didn't Gary Glitter sing a song like that? dogrun

19-11-2017 07:06
Note to all Members. Please review your Message inboxes. Some of these are getting rather large. Thanks.

19-11-2017 03:05
OK, all the YouTube videos are working again. Just use the YT link, and then encase in tags [ youtube] at the start, [/ youtube] at the end. Cool. Thumbs Up

12-11-2017 02:39
Starting to crank out some reviews now. Woah!

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 1997 Articles » Savatage - 1997 The Wake Of Magellan
Savatage - 1997 The Wake Of Magellan

ARTIST: Savatage
ALBUM: The Wake Of Magellan
SERIAL: 0089902CTR
YEAR: 1997
CD REISSUE: 1998, Lava (USA), 83100-2 * 2002, SPV, SPV 076-74532 CD * 2010, Ear Music, 0204102ERE


LINEUP: Jon Oliva - keyboards, vocals * Zack Stevens - vocals * Chris Caffery - guitars, vocals * Al Pitrelli - guitars, vocals * Johnny Lee Middleton - bass * Jeff Plate - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 The Ocean * 02 Welcome * 03 Turns To Me * 04 Morning Sun * 05 Another Way * 06 Blackjack Guillotine * 07 Paragons Of Innocence * 08 Complaint In The System (Veronica Guerin) * 09 Underture * 10 The Wake Of Magellan * 11 Anymore * 12 The Storm * 13 The Hourglass * 14 Somewhere In Time/Alone You Breathe * 15 Sleep * 16 Stay

WEBLINKS: www.savatage.com

Been around for a few years these guys and still they thrash out good albums. At first hearing you think maybe they haven't developed much over the years, but putting on an old Savatage album soon lets you hear the difference. That said, this is still very much a real heavy metal album, there are no falsetto leads vocals here and no guitar prima-donna's either. Almost a concept album about the life and times of Magellan the famous explorer (for want of a better subject) with a bizarre track about Veronica Guerin an Irish reporter apparently murdered by the drug lords. The track appears to have little or no relevance to the rest of the album?

The Songs
But overall, this makes for a fairly well put together offering. Savatage's trade-mark piano and acoustic intros that explode into frenzied melodic riffs are complimented by a number of guitar and piano orientated instrumentals as well as vocal interplays and harmonisations. With a six-piece band where there are two guitars, five providing vocal input, and a good number of years providing the direction, then it's not surprising that the tunes get into your head and start humming those heavy but very melodic tracks.

In Summary
Zak Stevens has toned down his raspy voice but still punches out great vocals. When supported by the rest of the band they produce some quality Queen style vocal work vaguely familiar and along the lines of 'Night At The Opera'. The down side of this is that it is still a very much a metal album, and if you are not a die hard metal fan you may still find the subtlety and melodies rather raw edged. However if you are game, then 'The Wake Of Magellan' is well worth a look, even if the rather large inner sleeve will never go back into the jewel case again!

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
Tags: Savatage 
#1 | dangerzone on August 07 2008 05:40:34
Maybe Priest were inspired by this outing for their monumental diasater 'Nostradamus'.
#2 | trillion1999 on October 25 2011 23:41:25
I love When The Crowds Are Gone from the Gutter Ballet album.It makes me want to hear everything by those guys.
#3 | rkbluez on July 20 2012 02:52:58
Another great Savatage classic...these guys were on a roll back then and one of the best bands around.
#4 | gdazegod on July 17 2016 07:00:03
Hope to get in a few more Savatage articles before too long. 'Hall Of The Mountain King' and 'Edge Of Thorns' are in the queue.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Sahara Snow - 1997 Sahara Snow, Level - 1982 Level, Kent, David - 1982 David Kent, Riot - 1979 Narita, Point Blank - 1981 American Excess, Sherbet - 1977 Photoplay, Axia - 2004 Axia, Frontline - 1997 Heroes, Loudness - 1985 Thunder In The East, Ethos - 2000 Relics, Bayman, Dion - 2014 Afterburn, Jesse Brady - 1982 Jesse Brady, Turf - 1980 Crime Of Passion, Oz Knozz - 2008 10000 Days And Nights, Dream Theater - 2005 Octavarium
Heat The (USA) Sad Cafe Saracen EP Moritz The Tirith Touch American Tears Drive She Said Hit The Ground Runnin Saxon Strangeways Ultravox Duncan Browne Rock Candy Records Armored Saint Best Of 2014 Magnus Karlssons Freefall Landslide FX Perfect View Cheap Trick Player Jim Dandy Black Oak Arkansas Sherbet Xavion Karson Eight Seconds Richard Tate Bobby Friss Striker Suntower Krokus L.R.S
All Tags
Search DDG