Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6825
Comments: 16465
Ratings: 4520
Forum Posts: 21582
Latest Comments
It was Heather Thomas in ...
Actually, 'Find The Lady'...
Cheers Dave, looking to g...
Great, Malcolm! I can hel...
Dave, it's already set up...
Great list, Jeffrey. The ...
Maybe an interview with G...
Finally got a copy of thi...
Thanks for the download y...
Yes Dave, I agree New Yor...
Very cool. I've always ha...
As a musician and avid li...
The problem with AOR as a...
Thanks Jose. However, man...
I would have voted "no" a...
Interesting responses fro...
Well personally, I won't ...
No no, don't cancel Moder...
Fair Play to you Jeff. I ...
I listened to a fair amou...
You must login to post a message.

17-01-2018 21:50
In response to Cyrille Regis, BBC 2 repeat the Adrian Chiles documentary, Whites v Blacks, How Football Changed A Nation, unbelievable true story, worth watching

17-01-2018 18:44
Review of the rather splendid `Hornal` album is in the works too.

17-01-2018 01:57
Dave and Jeff's best of 2017 wrap-up's just around the corner too.. computer work

17-01-2018 01:56
There is a three-part article coming up for E.L.O (Eldorado, A New World Record and Out Of The Blue). Look out for it soon.

16-01-2018 08:52
Stoke fans have my commiserations.Und
er Lambert the Villa played some of the most boring, unimaginative football I`ve ever had the misfortune to witness.Relegation
?,yes I`d say so.

16-01-2018 00:59
Stoke City condemned 2 relegation. Who is the new manager? Paul Lambert.

15-01-2018 22:09
Agreed Reyno about Clyde Best, further back is the story of Walter Tull which is quite heartbreaking, links to Northampton and lived in Rushden.

15-01-2018 22:05
Big loss is Cyrille, only short time at Wolves, but I was at the Peterborough game where he scored the last minute winner, Cyrille and Laurie C, what a team.

15-01-2018 22:05
I think many people forget guys like West Ham's Clyde Best whenever the subject of the impact of black footballers in the English game crops up. He was just as good as the West Brom trio years b4

15-01-2018 19:13
Cyrille was part of the ground breaking so called 'three degrees' who did so much to break down racial barriers in Football back in the late 70's.R.I.P

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2004 Articles » Distant Thunder - 2004 Welcome The End
Distant Thunder - 2004 Welcome The End

James Rivera - vocals
Mike LePond - bass
Eric Halpern - guitars
Gregg Gill - guitars
Rick Ward - drums

James Rivera is back!!! The Helstar, Destiny's End and Seven Witches vocalist brings his latest incarnation to the world. Rivera fans in general will lap this up and come back begging for more as James and co. tear up the pavement from start to finish. There's a good mix of Helstar, Destiny's End, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden. I even hear a little Annihilator. Get all those together and you're talking 'heavy f&%#ing metal'!!!! Joining James are guitarists Eric Halpern and Gregg Gill, who both play with the excellent Z-Lot-Z, Mike LePond from Symphony X and drummer Rick Ward. The foundation of Distant Thunder's sound is the tight rhythm guitars and searing leads courtesy of these talented musicians.

The Songs
There are a number of memorable moments but the riff on 'Lost In Time' is a ball breaker. The track begins slowly but when that riff kicks in, along with James' vocals, it will floor you. The Helstar references are all too obvious, considering the album cover (pentagram), the band name (a previous Helstar album title), and the re-recording of their tune &'Running With The Pack', which admittedly is inspired. I haven't heard the original, and probably won't bother as this version sounds amazing. Accept's 'Restless and Wild' also gets a good going over - James Rivera style. A couple of the newer tracks that really hit the mark are the menacing 'Soulless Inventions' with a wonderful galloping riff, while 'Fire In The Skies' is plain brutal with a mid-tempo chugging riff and great twin lead guitar.

In Summary
If you crave old fashioned American metal brought into the 21st Century then Distant Thunder will certainly feed your hunger. We can thank Jack Frost for wrapping the material in a first class production. Everything sounds great, especially those riffs when you turn the stereo way, way up. 'Welcome The End' is a superb, unrelenting album that won't let you down.

Track Listing:
01 The Day Upon You
02 I Welcome The End
03 Souless Inventions
04 Hopeless Creator
05 Fire In The Skies
06 Distant Thunder (instrumental)
07 Beyond The Black Field Of Stars
08 Lost In Time
09 Finding My Way
10 Run With The Pack
11 Restless And Wild

Related Articles:

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Riff Raff - 1981 Vinyl Futures, Rea, Chris - 1980 Tennis, Roadmaster - 1979 Hey World, Steed, Jim - 2000 Interview, Red Dawn - 1993 Never Say Surrender, Benedictum - 2005 Uncreation, SX - 1990 SX, Balance - 1982 In For The Count, Torrance, Richard - 1977 Bareback, Y & T - 1982 Black Tiger, Deasy, Bill - 2003 Good Day No Rain, Silverwing - 1983 Alive And Kicking, Lionville - 2017 A World Of Fools, Broughtons, The - 1979 Parle Vous English?, Takit - 1982 Takit (EP)
Enforcer Best Of 2011 The Rattles Dwayne Ford REO Speedwagon The Quill Tygers Of Pan Tang Mamas Boys Ava Lordi Karnivool Bad City Amboaje Tim Feehan Mattson Roadmaster Nick Gilder Various Artists Trillion Rock Candy Records George Benson Fotomaker Hope One Truth Rage (Germany) Stan Bush Candy Harlots Michael Sembello Murray Head Wheels Of Fire Captain Marryat
All Tags
Search DDG