Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16579
Ratings: 4791
Forum Posts: 21868
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2017 Articles » Tragik - 2017 Tainted
Tragik - 2017 Tainted


ARTIST: Tragik
ALBUM: Tainted
LABEL: Rock Company
YEAR: 2017


LINEUP: Phil Vincent - vocals, bass, keyboards * Damian D'Ercole - guitars, piano * Dirk Phillips - drums, keyboards

TRACK LISTING: 01 Welcome Back * 02 Not Over You (Listen) * 03 Can't Take It Back * 04 Into The Great Unknown * 05 Face Of Sorrow * 06 Out Of Nowhere * 07 'Til I See You Again * 08 Nobody's There * 09 Regrets * 10 Tainted * 11 Heaven * 12 Harsh Reality


WEBLINKS: Official Website | FB Page

Phil Vincent continues to be a busy man in 2017, and before the year wrapped up, a new album from one of his side-project Tragik, was delivered. One of Tragik's more interesting angles from a non-musical perspective, is the line-up of hot looking women used for the cover art. I've mentioned this on previous reviews, but I repeat it once again. It really is like a parade of Playboy models in seductive poses. Always a sure fire way of gaining the attention of the intended target audience.. lol

The Songs
With Tragik, Phil, Damien and Dirk take the trio into a different space than with the other PV projects. I like the extended use of keyboards here, which makes it more of an melodic rock record than a pure rock/metal one. You hear this from the outset, as 'Welcome Back' flies off the back of a flighty synth pattern. Some nice harmony vocals here too. 'Not Over You (Listen)' hints at a synth-pop direction, especially the rhythm section and the pop-like structure of the verses. Ensuring we don't can't disappear off the map, 'Can't Take It Back' brings things back into focus, with a harder sound and application. Making further changes, 'Into The Great Unknown' offers variety with tempo and instrument selection, the brass lead for instance taken from a synth patch more than likely. The piano laced 'Heaven' didn't hit me on the head as an attention grabber, and like most projects like this, I prefer it when things are ramped out, like on the title track 'Tainted'. 'Face Of Sorrow' picks up the pace, and is mostly a case of hard driving rock. 'Out Of Nowhere' on the other hand is a slow-paced but intense track, with good use of softer elements (keyboard motif) and guitar riffs to toughen it up.

In Summary
I'm thinking that the remaining tracks aren't as strong nor as memorable as the first half, and the attention gauge fell away somewhat. Vincent can write material quite quickly it would seem, and blitzing twelve new songs along with material on other projects this year doesn't appear to impact on his workload, whereas other artists struggle and have a problem writing two songs per year! I'm not quite convinced that this is the best Tragik record I've heard thus far, some of the earlier material might still be a priority over this one. Check it out, see what you think.

Tragik - 2017 EPK

Tragik - 2017 Harsh Reality

Tragik - 2017 Nobody's There

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 0% [No Votes]
85% 85% 0% [No Votes]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 100% [2 Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Search DDG