Theme Switcher
Switch to:


Join us over at the Facebook replacement Join up and become part of 2018's great migration off of Facebook.


Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6679
Comments: 16714
Ratings: 4967
Forum Posts: 22735
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2017 Articles » Keleven - 2017 Nothing Is Forever
Keleven - 2017 Nothing Is Forever


ARTIST: Keleven
ALBUM: Nothing Is Forever
LABEL: Self Released
YEAR: 2017


LINEUP: Andreas 'Andi' Pilhar - lead vocals, guitar * Max Neumann - guitar * Bernhard Welles - bass * Ivan Gutleben - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Love What You Do * 02 Treasure Your Life * 03 Nothing Is Forever * 04 Horror Trip * 05 It's Time To Make Some Noise * 06 Blind Side * 07 We All Fall Down * 08 Bring Back My Soul * 09 Song For Freedom * 10 Give It To Me * 11 Out Of Control * 12 Trust Yourself


WEBLINKS: Official Website | FB Page

2017 wasn't just about writing articles around the usual offerings from the dwindling melodic rock community and record labels. No, we took a chance on some 'left-of-center' type releases, and during 2018, you may see GDM veering more in this direction to give the website some wider variety, and not write about what everyone is writing about. One of a handful of bands I took a look at were Austrian rockers Keleven. This is their third release in 2017 called 'Nothing Is Forever'.

The Songs
We don't write about too many bands from this alpine nation, but I gave these guys a listen, and kept onto this with the intention of writing about them. Their sound is mostly styled around a country rock base, without dipping into southern rock territory, which might disappoint a few punters. It's melodic, and wouldn't be out of place in the over-crowded Nashville scene. On the other hand, they do change course often, and head into harder territory, like an Austrian version of AC/DC or Krokus. Confused? I was.. Opener 'Love What You Do' is a handy scene-setter, quite laid back and melodic, but the band kick into high-gear for 'Treasure Your Life' with a strong back-end rhythm section and tougher guitars. The title-track is third up, and is acoustic ballad with a pastoral backdrop. 'Horror Trip' is a change-up modern rocker, which certainly contrasts to the first three tracks we heard. 'It's Time To Make Some Noise' with the motorcycle intro a la Saxon drops into a raucous AC/DC riff fest, which definitely works for Keleven even if we've heard it a thousand times elsewhere.

In Summary
An interesting album, lots of variety as mentioned, and for future direction, they could go in any number of directions if they so choose. Or, they could stay as they are and continue to develop their craft to a higher level. At the moment the bar is set quite high, so they are off to a great start. Probably not the most original band you'll ever hear, but what they do, they do pretty damn well.

Keleven - 2017 It's Time To Make Some Noise

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 0% [No Votes]
85% 85% 100% [2 Votes]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Articles Cloud
Big Mouth - 1997 Hands Of Time, 4 Reasons Unknown - 1988 4 Reasons Unknown, Benedictum - 2011 Dominion, Ferry, Bryan - 1985 Boys And Girls, Vega - 2010 Kiss Of Life, Morningstar - 2002 Interview with Rick Bacus, State, The - 1988 Elementary, Midnight Flyer - 1981 Midnight Flyer, Heartbreak Radio - 2013 On Air, Autograph - 1984 Sign In Please, Best of 2009 - 2009 Jeffrey343, Moody Blues, The - 1981 Long Distance Voyager, Guidry, Greg - 2017 Heart To Heart, Schon, Neal - 1989 Late Nite, Tories, The - 2001 The Upside Of Down
Gerry Rafferty Saxon Motorhead Icon Sweet Sammy Hagar Belladonna Anthrax Kansas Banzai (Spain) Constellation Sammy Hagar Kim Carnes Genesis Silent Majority Black Rose (UK) Marizane Beautiful Beast Julian Angel The Graces Reggie Knighton Rock Candy Records Aviary Rock Candy Records David Isaacs Huey Lewis Sweet REO Speedwagon Jeff Austin Project Judas Priest Omega Zingo Wounded Bird Riff Raff Paul Rodgers Queen
All Tags