Theme Switcher
Switch to:


Join us over at the Facebook replacement Join up and become part of 2018's great migration off of Facebook.


Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6679
Comments: 16714
Ratings: 4967
Forum Posts: 22735
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2017 Articles » Dante Fox - 2017 Six String Revolver
Dante Fox - 2017 Six String Revolver


ARTIST: Dante Fox
ALBUM: Six String Revolver
YEAR: 2017


LINEUP: Sue Willetts Manford - lead vocals * Tim Manford - lead guitar, backing vocals * Alan Mills - bass * Eric Ragno - keyboards * Andy Perfect - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Firing My Heart * 02 Lonely * 03 Under The City Lights * 04 A Matter Of Time * 05 Still Remember Love * 06 Lost And Lonely Heart * 07 Remember My Name * 08 All That I Need * 09 I Can't Sleep * 10 How Do We Learn About Love * 11 All That I Need (Acoustic Version)


WEBLINKS: Official Website | FB Page | Twitter Page

It's a new album from this long-standing English melodic rock outfit. But then again, it isn't. Only the band members themselves can answer the question why 'Six String Revolver' is a repeat of material from Dante Fox's first two albums (1996's 'Under Suspicion' and 1999's 'The Fire Within'). Why would they bother? Apart from those original albums not being readily available anymore, and perhaps suffering from some known production issues, it seems like an exercise of perfection to completely revamp the songs so that at the end of the day, they can say 'job well done'. In this day and age of instant consumerism and 5 second attention spans among Millenials, only the very few will notice.

The Songs
I thought those two albums were pretty good at the time, and we did review 'Under Suspicion' way back when. I gave these new versions a spin, and it wasn't until a few of them sounded familiar such as 'Lost And Lonely Heart' and 'How Do We Learn About Love' did the penny finally drop. Reading around, and digging out the PR for the album, I finally made the connection. Silly me. With a new line-up involved, including the ever resourceful keyboardist Eric Ragno (Lec Zorn, Vox Tempus), the material has new life breathed into them, and they sound just as good as the originals. Well, at least as I rememeber them.

In Summary
Personally, I'm not sure I can tell the difference, but Sue and Tim can probably go to some length and explain the reasoning behind the new recordings and variations. A better result all round would be some new material in 2018, because despite the fact that Dante Fox are nearly thirty years young, it still sounds like these Midland melodic rockers still have a lot more to offer. In the words of Jean-Luc Picard from Star Trek: 'Make it so'.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

#1 | jeffrey343 on January 16 2018 00:10:18
Very nice album. I enjoyed 'Breathless' quite a bit in 2016, and this is a continuation of that sound, even though the songs themselves are remakes.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 0% [No Votes]
85% 85% 100% [1 Vote]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Articles Cloud
Holland - 1985 Little Monsters, Bush, Stan - 2004 Shine, Metallica - 1983 Kill Em All, Tideline - 1979 The Crowded Room, Tora Tora - 2011 Revolution Day, Drive She Said - 2016 Pedal To The Metal, Farnham, John - 1986 Whispering Jack, Oscar - 1977 Cobblestone Heroes, Balance Of Power - 2003 Heathen Machine, Raymond, Brett - 1986 Only Love, Strapps - 1976 Strapps, State Cows - 2013 The Second One, By, Kjetil - 2008 Kjetil By, Intuition - 1994 Turn It On, Cellarful Of Noise - 1988 Magnificent Obsession
Dakota Hastatus Various Artists The Rub Syron Vanes Klaatu Stone Soup Jack Wagner Places Of Power Queensryche Operation Mindcrime Razormaid Arcangel Jeff Cannata The Clarks Live Albums Nova Wounded Bird Ian Thomas Celtic Pride Shadow Circus Able Kane Dennis De Young Tattoo Jaugernaut Various Artists Rocken Horse Point Blank Teaze Skid Row (USA) Dragonforce Violent Divine Manilla Road Sunstrike
All Tags