Theme Switcher
Switch to:


Join us over at the Facebook replacement Join up and become part of 2018's great migration off of Facebook.


Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6679
Comments: 16714
Ratings: 4967
Forum Posts: 22735
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2017 Articles » Coldspell - 2017 A New World Arise
Coldspell - 2017 A New World Arise


ARTIST: Coldspell
ALBUM: A New World Arise
LABEL: Escape Music
YEAR: 2017


LINEUP: Niclas Swedentorp - lead vocals * Micke Larsson - guitars * Chris Goldsmith - bass * Perra Johansson - drums

Matti Eklund, Jona Tee, Ged Rylands - additional keyboards

TRACK LISTING: 01 Forevermore * 02 Call Of The Wild * 03 It Hurts * 04 Miles Away * 05 Signs * 06 Love Me Like You Do * 07 This Is Me * 08 Get To The Top * 09 Wait Until Tomorrow * 10 Losing My Mind * 11 Just One Night * 12 A New World Arise


WEBLINKS: Official Website | FB Page | Record Label

This Swedish band have been an ongoing institution at GDM since their arrival onto the scene back in 2009. In keeping with their resistance to change, the band line-up has remaining pretty much the same, and their label relationship with Escape Music is also intact after eight years. So too the production expertise of Tommy Hansen. Added to that, Coldspell still have the ability to deliver some excellent cover art; 'A New World Arise' continues that trend. However, the band have been off the map since 2013 and a lot of cold water has flowed under the bridge. To their credit, they are out there performing live; a long way from their Northern Sweden origins, and if anything, their sound has heavied up a notch since the last time I heard them.

The Songs
Now it's known to everyone here that I love the heavier stuff just as much as the adored AOR that dominates the GDM website. With Coldspell, they create a sound that sits on the twilight side of melodic hard rock. Bordering heavy metal, this is as good as it gets for me within this select sub-genre, before the lights go out and the night time kicks in. Check out the ferocious 'Evermore', Micke Larsson is on fire as the guitar power ramps up on both the rhythm work as well as the mind bending solos. 'Call Of The Wild' is all about thick and chunky riffs and an ear-candy chorus. Melody is still very much a presence with this band, as we hear on 'It Hurts', but on a track like 'Miles Away', the essence of the Coldspell sound filters through as if we're listening to their three previous albums. The band take time out for the mainly acoustic 'Signs', though there are some sizzling electrics going on too. Great track! For something different, the intro to 'Love Me Like You Do' is some swampy Mississippi delta blues, which continues into the verses. Somehow they throw some heavy metal into the mix. Not quite Black Label Society, but certainly different.

Coldspell get back to doing what they do best with 'This Is Me'. Some insistent six-string work and some pounding drums from Perra Johansson makes this a track to be heard loud and proud. 'Get To The Top' drops the tempo ever so slightly, but is still a powder-keg in the making. I'm reminded of some of the heavier moments of Jeff Scott Soto when listening to this. 'Wait Till Tomorrow' continues the melodic assault. It's like being given leadweight sugar for breakfast! 'Losin' My Mind' plays it slower and deliberate. It's nearly a groove-laden beauty, though not quite. Things keep rocking out to the end, with 'Just One Night' and the title track 'A New World Arise' maintaining the quality to the last millisecond.

In Summary
'A New World Arise' is similar to the Newman 'Aerial' album I reviewed just recently, in that I'm late getting around to it. I'm making up for lost time. No doubt there are other mid-year releases which will get added to the review queue. Coldspell though, are a band which we'll feature in their entirety, as their releases are well worth writing about. We've done them all so far, and will continue to do so into the future. Hoho to the chaps up in the North of Sweden.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 100% [2 Votes]
85% 85% 0% [No Votes]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Articles Cloud
Venus And Mars - 1998 New Moon Rising, Vox Tempus - 2004 In The Eye Of Time, Doucette - 1979 The Douce Is Loose, Tubes, The - 1975 The Tubes, Jeffries, Gary - 2011 Middle Class Man, Davis, Paul - 1981 Cool Night, Dangerface - 1983 Dangerface [ep], Scott And Steel - 1988 Scott And Steel, Davis, Jimmy (And Junction) - 2017 Going The Distance (Remaster), Wally - 2010 Montpellier, Heaven And Hell - 2009 The Devil You Know, Nits, The - 1987 In The Dutch Mountains, Roko - 1990 Roko, Gorrie, Alan - 1985 Sleepless Nights, Best Of - 2017 Gdazegod
Mastercastle Virgin Steele Airbourne Heavy Pettin Secret Service Lionheart (UK) Rock Candy Records Triumph Pandemic Pretty Maids In-Side Orphann Judas Priest Martina Edoff Astral Doors 707 Rock Candy Records Blue Oyster Cult Darby Mills Headpins Raintimes Chopper Winger Wounded Bird Voyager (UK) Warrant Jono Firefall Best Of Decade 2000-2009 Spiced Ice Mary-Lu Zahalan Overkill Pavic Nelson
All Tags