Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Latest Comments
Guys she's on Facebook, I...
Maybe Franne was friends ...
Rudy was co-written by Fe...
Great album and excellent...
H.E.A.T - 2017 Redefined ...
H.E.A.T - 2017 Eye Of The...
Keldian - 2017 Blood Red ...
No, I'm changing my mind ...
Code Red - 2017 Heat Of T...
Yeah, I quite liked this,...
Midnite City - 2017 Summe...
Target - 1979 Taxman [yo...
Cher - 1982 Rudy [youtub...
Cher - 1982 Games [youtu...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Devi...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Head...
Neal Schon - 1989 Softly ...
Getting back into this al...
You must login to post a message.

20-11-2017 22:15
Anyone have a rip of the Daddy Warbucks album on Tiger Lily from 76 please?

19-11-2017 09:44
Burn (UK) will have their new album 'Ice Age' released in Japan via Marquee/Avalon on Nov 22. The album is then released worldwide on Jan 19th 2018 via Melodicrock Records.

19-11-2017 09:40
I was a bit cranky last week, waiting for various things to happen with the website transition. God it's good to be back. Didn't Gary Glitter sing a song like that? dogrun

19-11-2017 07:06
Note to all Members. Please review your Message inboxes. Some of these are getting rather large. Thanks.

19-11-2017 03:05
OK, all the YouTube videos are working again. Just use the YT link, and then encase in tags [ youtube] at the start, [/ youtube] at the end. Cool. Thumbs Up

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 1988 Articles » Bond, The - 1988 Prints Of Peace
Bond, The - 1988 Prints Of Peace

ARTIST: Bond, The
ALBUM: Prints Of Peace
LABEL: Marshall Pickering
YEAR: 1988
CD REISSUE: CD Reissue as 'Peace Offering' 1996, Cyclops CYCL 042 (with bonus tracks)


LINEUP: Geoff Mann - vocals, electric & acoustic guitars, drum programming, percussion, keyboards * Dave Mortimer - electric & acoustic guitars * Steve Ridley - keyboards, drum programming, backing vocals

TRACK LISTING: 01 Gateway Into Heaven * 02 Sob Stories * 03 High Ground * 04 Seriously Siblings * 05 Don't You Wait * 06 Stranded * 07 Looking For Love * 08 Table Talk

WEBLINKS: www.geoffmann.co.uk

In his short 37 years, the late Geoff Mann left a lasting legacy of not only great music with Twelfth Night and solo work, but as an individual who stood up for and lived his Christian faith while retaining artistic and creative integrity. Following his conversion to Christianity, Mann departed Twelfth Night in 1983, released a series of pop and prog albums on his own and as the A Geoff Mann Band as well as becoming an ordained priest into The Church of England. His life touched many in the progressive community including my own, having to special order via snail mail all the A Geoff Mann Band and Twelfth Night albums in the ancient pre-internet days and only to learn of his 1993 passing in Kerrang! magazine a couple months after the fact.

The Songs
Mann formed The Bond in 1985 as a three-piece while still studying for the priesthood and raising a family which I imagine had to be exhausting but he pulled it off, releasing two back to back albums on the Marshall Pickering label (yeah, me neither), 'Won By One' in 1987 which actually got a decent review in Kerrang! from some guy named Derek Oliver(!) and a year later 'Prints Of Peace' which I think is the better album by a lamb's tail. Sound-wise some might be thrown off by the Roland drum machine and lyrically it's very much what you'd expect from a man of God in the making with a handful of decent cuts on display. 'Gateway Into Heaven' is fantastic hook-drenched synth-pop with Mann's vocals coming across like an unusual mixture of The Human League's Philip Oakey and Peter Hammill. Both 'Sob Stories' and 'High Ground' are firmly set in the classic neo prog style although pride of place definitely goes to 'Seriously Siblings' which recalls Geoff's best work with Twelfth Night and was even included on the collectable late 80's Steve Wilson financed 'Double Exposure' various artists 2-LP set. Unfortunately, the record's remaining tracks are a tad lacklustre in comparison, good and tuneful but not nearly as memorable.

In Summary
The much-missed Cyclops label reissued 'Prints Of Peace' on CD with a clutch of 'Won By One' demos with the title 'Peace Offering' and while long deleted, copies are still pretty easy to find as is most of the Geoff Mann catalog which hopefully will be the case for many years to come.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Three Dog Night - 1969 Suitable For Framing, Wrathchild America - 1989 Climbin' The Walls, Protheroe, Brian - 1976 I/You, Durocs - 1979 Durocs, Widowmaker (UK) - 2000 Straight Faced Fighters, Asia - 1982 Asia, Dads, The - 1984 The Dads, OSI - 2012 Fire Makes Thunder, Small Wonder - 1977 Growin', Virginia Wolf - 1987 Push, Dream Evil - 2003 Evilized, Pallas - 1984 The Sentinel, Roadmaster - 1994 One For The Road: Live! [Video], Thomson, Ali - 1980 Take A Little Rhythm, King Kobra - 1988 III
Robbie Dupree Wounded Bird Trampolin Tuff Kilowatt The Guess Who Crowcuss The Dictators Tobruk Pride Of Lions The Killers Icon AC/DC Lost And Found Smartbomb Magic EP Robbin Julien David Shankle Group Eye (Sweden) EP Live Albums Threshold Demon Drive Unruly Child Yesterrock Walk The Wire Taraxacum Haywire Fumble Love N Revenge Journey Hansel EP Care Of Night 88 Sundays Arcangel Jeff Cannata Boys Brigade
All Tags
Search DDG