Theme Switcher

Switch to:


Join us over at the Facebook replacement Join up and become part of 2018's great migration off of Facebook.

Site Stats

Album Reviews: 6924
Comments: 16855
Ratings: 5042
Forum Posts: 22613

Search DDG

Taraxacum - 2003 Rainmaker

Rick Mythiasin - vocals
Tobias Exxel - guitars
Danny Klupp - guitars
Shaker Elmosa - bass
Ferdy Doernberg - keyboards
Frank Wolf - drums

Taraxacum - an interesting name, and an interesting band fronted by ex-Steel Prophet vocalist Rick Mythiasin and fuelled by the likes of Edguy guitarist Tobias Exxel. Their new opus 'Rainmaker', the follow-up to 'Spirit of Freedom', is not entirely consistent, but the songs that work are so friggin' good you are nearly able to overlook the weaker tracks. As I said, nearly. At first I was going to glorify this album but then I took stock and came to the conclusion that this is a good album with 3 or 4 brilliant tracks.

The Songs
The album kicks off with the raucous hard rocking 'Dysfunctional'. A good chorus but a little unconvincing. On that note I was not prepared for the complete and utter brilliance of 'Prayer In Unison'. Man does this rock like there's no tomorrow with one of the best choruses I've ever heard. The title track is again sheer quality; a Domain style rocker. Taraxacum keep it coming strong with 'Never To Return'. High class melodic hard rock all round. I wouldn't say things go wrong from here but the remaining tracks don't have the same spark. There's the poppy 'Make It Happen'. 'Wake Up' is a nice enough ballad and the likes of 'Game Over' and 'The Red Pill' are reasonable rockers. Still, they don't meet the high standards reached by the previous tracks.

In Summary
Excuse the comparison but 'Rainmaker' suffers from a case of premature ejaculation. It all happens so hard and fast at the beginning that you're left with disappointment after those initial euphoric moments. Perhaps spreading those magic moments further through the album might have helped. In this case for Taraxacum, 'close, but no cigar'.

Track Listing:
01 Dysfunctional
02 Prayer In Unison
03 Rainmaker
04 Never To Return
05 Make It Happen
06 Wake Up
07 If I Had Known
08 Game Over
09 Dark Sunglasses
10 The Red Pill
11 In The End
12 Lo Que Falt (Bonus Track, spanish version of 'If I Had known')

Related Articles:

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.


No Comments have been Posted.

Post Comment

Please Login to Post a Comment.


Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.