Theme Switcher
Switch to:


Join us over at the Facebook replacement Join up and become part of 2018's great migration off of Facebook.


Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6679
Comments: 16714
Ratings: 4967
Forum Posts: 22735
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2016 Articles » Jackyl - 2016 ROWYCO
Jackyl - 2016 ROWYCO

ARTIST: Jackyl
LABEL: Mighty Loud
YEAR: 2016


LINEUP: Jesse James Dupree - vocals * Jeff Worley - guitar * Roman Glick - bass * Chris Worley - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Disasterpiece * 02 Rally * 03 All Night Rodeo * 04 Ahead Of My Time * 05 Just Because I'm Drunk * 06 Everyone's A Winner * 07 Crazy * 08 Hammer To The End * 09 Limpdick * 10 Blast Off



Still a valid concern 24 years (!) since their platinum self-titled debut in 1992, Jackyl's follow up to their excellent 2012 'Best In Show' offers another dose of the bands traditional hard rock, with a heavier sound perhaps than all their previous output. The more the years drift by it seems amazing a band like Jackyl is still allowed to exist, particularly in these PC ridden times, when it's almost become a crime to advocate the good time shenanigans Jackyl excel in, which consist of fighting, whisky, drinking and Southern pride. The music is still their emphasis however and you're unlikely to find a harder working outfit than this lot. For the less astute among us, the album title is an acronym for 'rock out with your cock out.'

The Songs
This is another cracking effort from the lads, with anthem after anthem, all of them unabashedly harking back to the classic era of hard rock, when rebelliousness was par for the course. Just a glance at the titles makes this perfectly clear, but their knack for a hook has always been obvious and the material here is as strong as anything from the 90's and beyond. The riffing accompanying 'Disasterpiece' is remarkably downtuned for the band, very heavy and bolstered by a chorus which hits the mark on first listen. 'Rally' is an anthem for the ages, with the chanted chorus on overload and paying homage to the bands love of biker rallies. The band even operates a bar in Sturgis, the Full Throttle Saloon, which is proof of their dedication to this lifestyle. 'All Night Rodeo' is an ode to partying and drinking, a track straight from 1989 paying no attention to whatever year it is. 'Just Because I'm Drunk' says it all, this one more in a heavy country style, with Dupree in vintage form. Always fond of covers, this time Jackyl take on Hot Chocolate's 'Everyone's A Winner' and while it doesn't really offer anything outside the box, it's still an inspired choice. 'Hammer To The Head' crawls along at a slow grind, throwing up more chugging heaviness and quite epic at well over five minutes. 'Limpdick' offers up such sensitive and heartfelt lyrics as 'you can't walk a mile in my shoes, you limpdick little prick' as Dupree rages about some corporate weakling whose old lady wanted Dupree's 'yardstick' instead. 'Blast Off' throws in some pace and is an energetic way to close things out, the band sounding heavier and better than ever.

In Summary
During 'Blast Off' Dupree sings 'this is rock and roll' and he's entirely correct. I don't listen to much new music as I once did, but I doubt there's too many bands left that sound as authentic as Jackyl. There's no doubt they live and breathe what they write about and that makes it all the more genuine. For me this is the album of the year so far and one I haven't been able to stop listening to since it first graced my ears.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Vega - 2016 Who We Are, Hydra - 1974 Hydra, Firehouse - 1992 Hold Your Fire, Hall And Oates - 1974 War Babies, Legs Diamond - 1992 Captured Live, Carlton, Vanessa - 2002 Be Not Nobody, Regatta - 1989 Regatta, Night Crossing - 1984 Night Crossing, Aerosmith - 1975 Toys In The Attic, UFO - 2006 The Monkey Puzzle, Crimsonfire - 2005 Three Track Sampler, Saga - 1980 Silent Knight, Elliot Minor - 2008 Elliot Minor, Crazy Lixx - 2012 Riot Avenue, Monroe - 1980 Monroe
Ratchell Couchois Crimson Glory Duke Jupiter Jozef Skrzek House Of Mirrors Barooga Bandit Rose (Canada) David Brad Mormino Paul Laine Dark Horse (Paul Laine) Marcy Levy Rock Candy Records Helix Tr3nity Dare Todd Rundgren Utopia First Shot Sweet Comfort Band The Godz Rock Candy Records Blackfoot Arena Legs Diamond UFO Thunderstone Judas Priest Return Gerard McMahon Dante Fox Motorhead Boxer Dio
All Tags