Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6739
Comments: 16303
Ratings: 4352
Forum Posts: 21544
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2004 Articles » House Of Mirrors - 2004 Nightflight To Paradise
House Of Mirrors - 2004 Nightflight To Paradise

Pekka Rautiainen - vocals
Jaakko Niitemaa - guitars
Jonne Valtonen - keyboards
Juha Paananen - bass
Jimbo Makelainen - drums

A Finnish band with a ten-year history behind them. Not exactly starting out as the melodic rock combo that they are now, House Of Mirrors have ventured down more mazes than confused children during the school holidays, with many musicians passing through their ranks. However, the mainstays have always been vocalist Pekka Rautiainen and guitarist Jaakko Niitemaa. Come 2004, we are thankful they've kept the whole show together, because with their proper debut album 'Nightflight To Paradise' out in the marketplace, they deliver a highly-enticing brand of melodic rock, which has it's roots set firmly in the style of Swedish rockers Treat.

The Songs
The sound is not as lavish as I was hoping (you know, the beautiful album cover gives you an indication of grander things to come, but not to be in this case..), though it is still very good. It comes across as more guitar-oriented than keyboard, despite the atmospheric 'Intro'. The album is filled out with superb vocal harmonies, complimenting the intricate arrangements. Leading off with 'Spirit Of Freedom', this one is an anthem for the ages, surely something to hope for considering the nonsense going on in the world right now. Any band who names a song 'Glory Days' gets my vote hands down! (why couldn't they have named it 'Glory Daze'? lol). The vocals of Rautiainen carrying the familiar strains of Robert Ernlund with aplomb. Things get real interesting on the uptempo 'Top Of The World', an excellent Scandi-melo-rock tune complete with tinkly ivories and crunchy guitars. It's followed by the equally commanding 'Alive', and the kick-arse rock of 'Searching For My Soul'. Those powerful guitar rhythms last heard on that fantastic debut Pole Position album make a return visit here. A heap of keyboards to be heard on the title track, a lovely piece of music it is too, with tremendous choruses fattening an already rich sound. The band close off with the commercial rock of 'Move On', Treat like in its style, lovely choruses again, and those tippy-tappy keyboards in the background.

In Summary
A couple of tracks border on the ordinary, but the quality of the arrangements and vocal harmonies lift it a notch, saving them in effect. A band that can do this obviously has something going for them, but really, consistency should be right across the album, not just selective tracks. With time, and critiquing, House Of Mirrors won't see the need to look back. A great introduction, and for fans of the aforementioned Treat and Pole Position, check them out!

URL: www.house-of-mirrors.com

Track Listing:
01 Intro
02 Spirit Of Freedom
03 Glory Days
04 Heart Is The Sky
05 Deep Inside
06 Top Of The World
07 Deliverance
08 Alive
09 Long Lost Love
10 Searching For My Soul
11 Night Flight To Paradise
12 Move On

Related Articles:

House Of Mirrors - 2004 Nightflight To Paradise

House Of Mirrors - 2006 Desolation

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
#1 | Jez on June 16 2008 04:02:56
Above average release with a great production, although i wouldn't go so far as to say they are up with the classic Scandie bands of yesteryear. Good none the less.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Goudreau, Barry - 1980 Barry Goudreau, Defender - 2005 Shout, Xeron - 1985 Does Anybody Hear, Tears For Fears - 1993 Elemental, All Sports Band - 1981 All Sports Band, Trans Am - 1990 Unlimited, Orphan - 1985 Salute, Rabin, Trevor - 2012 Jacaranda, Bastard - 1978 Tearing Nights, Export - 1984 Contraband, Coney Hatch - 1983 Outa Hand, 38 Special - 1982 Special Forces, Message - 1981 Lessons, Boone, Pat - 1997 In A Metal Mood (No More Mr Nice Guy), Various Artists - 2003 Tribute To Uli Jon Roth
In 3D Tony MacAlpine Fraze Gang Big Life Best Of 2014 Nightwing A-Ha 21 Guns Michael Sturgis Styx Transcendence Queensryche Alan Parsons Alan Parsons Project Blue Oyster Cult True Confessions Eclipse (Sweden) Echo Jet Armored Saint Rock Candy Records Hegel Galeforce Gentle Giant 805 Durocs Dick Coulson John Illsley Dire Straits American Angel Jadis Worrall Yesterrock Orleans Sherbet Randy Meisner Wounded Bird Face To Face
All Tags
Search DDG