Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16620
Ratings: 4879
Forum Posts: 22005
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2016 Articles » Heart - 2016 Beautiful Broken
Heart - 2016 Beautiful Broken

ALBUM: Beautiful Broken
LABEL: Concord
YEAR: 2016


LINEUP: Ann Wilson - vocals * Nancy Wilson - guitars, vocals, production * Craig Bartock - lead guitar * Dan Rothchild - bass, production * Ben Smith - drums, percussion

Guests: James Hetfield - co lead vocals 'Beautiful Broken'

TRACK LISTING: 01 Beautiful Broken * 02 Two * 03 Sweet Darlin' * 04 I Jump * 05 Johnny Moon * 06 Heaven * 07 City's Burning * 08 Down On Me * 09 One Word * 10 Language Of Love


Classic rockers Heart have been off the GDM radar for awhile now. Their last studio album 'Fanatic' came out in 2012, but you really have to head back into the early 90's to listen to them in their prime. Returning in 2016 with a new album 'Beautiful Broken' and on a new label (Concord), six of the songs are updated versions of songs found on prior albums such as 'Bebe Le Strange', 'Private Audition' and 'Passionworks'. (two each). Adding the song 'Beautiful Broken' (which was a bonus track on 'Fanatic') plus three new songs, this album is a mix of the past and a dabble within the present.

The Songs
Ann Wilson had mentioned that some of the songs from that 1980-1983 period could've been done better had the band been a bit better focused in the studio. In a way, the attempt to redo six songs from that period was a way to exorcise some demons. I quite liked those albums regardless, but hearing them updated was a noble gesture. Metallica's James Hetfield joins the sisters on the title track, where the tune is reworked to an extreme point of difference plus there are some new lyrics. 'Down On Me' and 'Sweet Darlin' come from 'Bebe le Strange'. 'Cty' Burning' and One Word' come from 'Private Audition' while 'Johnny Moon' and 'Language Of Love' come from 'Passionworks'. The three new tracks are: 'Two', 'I Jump' and 'Heaven'. The tenth track is as mentioned, the title track 'Beautiful Broken' which was a bonus track from 'Fanatic'.

In Summary
No doubt a collectible for the Heart completist, the album was released in early July and has received wide coverage on the Net. Check it out!

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

#1 | Explorer on August 04 2016 19:05:04
I approached this album with much trepidation after the abysmal 'Fanatic', but found myself rather enjoying this outing. Indeed it's been awhile since Heart sounded so focussed. A welcome return. Whilst talking about all things Heart, Ann Wilson really does need to sort out the sonics/production, as the 'That Ann Wilson Thing' EP sounds bloody awful..a waste of a golden voice.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 0% [No Votes]
85% 85% 100% [1 Vote]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Search DDG