Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16620
Ratings: 4879
Forum Posts: 22005
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2004 Articles » Book Of Reflections - 2004 Book Of Reflections
Book Of Reflections - 2004 Book Of Reflections

Lead Vocals - Andy Engberg, Mikael Holm, Hubi Meisel, Torgny Stjarnfelt
Keyboards - Vitalij Kuprij, Lars Eric Mattsson
Guitars - Rusty Cooley, Lars Eric Mattsson
Drums - Eddie Sledgehammer
Bass - Lars Eric Mattsson

When hearing Book Of Reflections for the first time I had to ask myself, 'Did they record this with towels over the microphones?' Not because the production is light and fluffy, but because it sounds so damp and lifeless. And throughout this listening (dis)pleasure I often wondered to myself, 'Why, oh Why?'. This may be a super-group but it is far from a super-group performance. For one thing Lars Eric Mattsson is involved. Now, I'm not trying to be personal but I just can't get to grips with Mattsson's style of playing and don't enjoy it. I've tried, through many albums, but I'm defeated.

The Songs
Unfortunately Lars has to take the heat for the song-writing which doesn't help the situation. The quality of the songs just isn't there. Put it this way, you flick through the tracks and very few start well enough that you want to explore more. Track 7 and 12 rising above the others. Also, it doesn't help when there are 4 vocalists and no info on who is doing what (one of the banes of getting promo discs). The vocals are probably the best part of the album as the production hasn't completely ruined the delivery. As for the drums, bass and rhythm guitars the sound is very poor. No, I'll be brutally honest. It absolutely sucks!!!

In Summary
From the cast of characters you would have expected better, and I believe Lion Music should reflect (pun intended) on whether this was a necessary release. And by the way the music on offer is neoclassical melodic metal, or so the promo sheet says.


Track Listing:
01 Phoenix
02 Guardian Of Time
03 Going Through The Motions
04 Tearing Down
05 Slippin' Away
06 Only One Truth
07 Child Of The Rainbow
08 You're Not Alone
09 Book Of Reflections
10 Let It Go
11 Blood From A Stone (European Bonus Track)

Related Articles:

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

#1 | 147 on February 21 2006 02:47:34

This is a truly great cd! It's one of the best cd's featuring some of
Progressive music's most exceptionally talented musicians:
Hubi Meisel, Lars Eric Mattson, Rusty Cooley,and many, many more! I am really happy to own it. All of the songs are so great!
I am sorry, but here I have to STRONGLY DISAGREE with the reviewer.
Perhaps I should have done the review!
This is a great cd...not only do you get wonderful, moving songs,
but the musicians are A+ material.


Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Search DDG