Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16579
Ratings: 4791
Forum Posts: 21868
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2001 Articles » Tories, The - 2001 The Upside Of Down
Tories, The - 2001 The Upside Of Down

Steve Bertrand - vocals, guitar
James Gufree - bass, vocals
JJ Farris - guitar, vocals
Bryan Black - drums

Already acclaimed for the superb debut release 'Wonderful Life', the Tories have returned with a slightly darker, but no less impressive modern rock album in 'Upside Of Down'. Sharp-eyed readers may recognise guitarist JJ Farris' name from his stint in short-lived pop-metallers Slammin' Gladys in the early nineties, and neither him or the rest of the band are no strangers to the rollercoaster ride of the music business. The Tories have faced many changes and upheavals in the past few years, and that probably accounts for the somewhat dark tone of some of the tracks, but this is by no means a glum record.

The Songs
Opener 'Would You Notice' is a superb representation of modern pop rock with a lifting chorus and the guiding hand of Foo Fighters' producer Stuart Brawley helps this to positively leap out of the speakers. The pace picks up even more on 'Time For You' (the theme tune from the NBC show 'Jessie'), and blasts out a pulsating rhythm along with some rocking guitars. The band's excellent combination of subtle verses and slamming choruses recalls a heavier Vertical Horizon - in particular, the title track, 'Greatest Foe' and 'Come Unglued', all of which have a real modern edge and groove to them. The cathartic 'Point Of View' tells of splintering friendships and festering bitterness but is poppy enough to prevent it from becoming too melancholy.

In Summary
Yet the Tories also mix things up brilliantly with the slightly experimental 'The End' - an interesting rock song set to the beat of a marching band (surely that must be a first). The acoustic 'All The World's for Sale' and sugar-sweet pop rocker 'Everything Keeps Coming Up You' raises the spirits a little but the absolute standout track for me - and the song could surely be a huge summer hit for them - is 'Superconductor'. The mix of a great melody line, breezy poolside atmosphere and acoustic and electric guitars is irresistible and puts the top hat on a fine album.


Track Listing:
01 Would You Notice
02 Time For You
03 Come Unglued
04 Greatest Foe
05 Point of View
06 Superconductor
07 Everything Keeps Coming Up You
08 The Upside of Down
09 The End
10 Other Side of Time
11 All the World's For Sale
12 Change Me
13 Alright Tonight
14 Roxanne Riley

Related Articles:

Embedded Audio:

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Search DDG