Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16579
Ratings: 4791
Forum Posts: 21868
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2015 Articles » Airstream - 2015 Kingdom Of Isolation
Airstream - 2015 Kingdom Of Isolation

ARTIST: Airstream
ALBUM: Kingdom Of Isolation
LABEL: Metalville
YEAR: 2015


LINEUP: Staffan 'Stiff' Karlsson - vocals * Mathias Brask - guitar * Micke Hoglund - bass * Tommy Moon - drums

Guests: Kee Marcello, Thomas Larsson - guitar solos

TRACK LISTING: 01 The Power Of Love * 02 You Had The World In Your Hands * 03 Hold On To What We've Got * 04 Oh Mother Oh Father * 05 We Don't Look Back * 06 Addicted * 07 Kingdom Of Isolation * 08 Lost In Fears * 09 House Of Pain



Airstream are from Sweden, and are signed to German HM label Metalville. This is the label responsible for most of the Astral Doors back-catalogue, plus the band called Sky Of Rage, from whence the lead singer Staffan Karlsson originates from. Airstream are forging a new direction, with a nod toward melodic rock equipped with a sting in the tail. I'm not quite sure that's in the best interest of a predominate 'heavy metal' label out of Germany to sign a band with this much melody. Next thing you know, Frontiers or AOR Heaven will be signing a Norwegian satanic death metal band! Have no fear feathered fluffy AORsters.. as Airstream appear more than capable of tossing you melodic rock goodies like sugar-bullets at a lolly scramble. This is definitely pitched at the GDM readership rather than some heavy metal site from Estonia! There are more than a few keyboards here, and with nine songs, there is much interest and intrigue all the way through. The guitar solos are pretty good too, though it must said, Aistream get a bit of help in this department from Kee Marcello (who needs no introduction here) as well as Thomas Larsson from the Glenn Hughes Band.

The Songs
It's a bombastic start with 'The Power Of Music'. An Amaranthe styled number played in a very racy style. 'You Had The World In Your Hands' is a fascinating piece. At 8 minutes, there are stabbing pianos a la Queen and some fab vocals from Karlsson who really does stretch out in the vein of the aforementioned Glenn Hughes and a very melodic and subdued Jorn Lande. It's a bit scattered in direction and style, though I can forgive them for that. All I can say is give it a listen. The arrangement for 'Hold On To What We've Got' is steady-state melodic rock. Again it rollicks along, Karlsson's vocals this time bringing in Jan Johansen flavours. This was the Swedish singer from Ignition, a great band from a decade ago. 'Oh Mother Oh Father' was a bit strange. A ballad to start with, then the power is switched on. You can hear an array of sound effects including what sounded like trolls or elves chattering and laughing in the background.

'We Don't Look Back' is a very modern sounding number. Jangly guitars combine with some trippy synth parts. 'Addicted' is another unusual arrangement. Beefy guitar riffs and drum parts, then piano draped verses that slows everything down. What's going on here? The title-track 'Kingdom Of Isolation' also goes off at angles, though the chorus brings everything back into order. I quite liked this one, even if what I've heard so far is generally a bit oddball. 'Lost In Fears' features off-tempo guitar riffs and drum-work. It's not out of sync as such, but the chops and changes with the tempo is very different. I also had a hard time pulling 'House Of Pain' into context. Again, modern sounding synths amid a mix-up arrangement.

In Summary
After giving this a run-through, I'm scratching my head with this one. Airstream certainly don't follow a tried and true formula. They very much create their own. At the end of the day, the unusual arrangements would fit well into a technical metal structure. Something like Aussie prog metallers Voyager do. So I guess you can see where I'm going with this review. 'Kingdom Of Isolation' is definitely left-of-centre, and Airstream can't be accused of playing or painting music by numbers. Give them a chance, but be prepared for some oddball moments.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

#1 | gdazegod on July 21 2015 12:53:41
Airstream - 2015 Hold On To What We Got
YouTube Video:
#2 | gdazegod on July 21 2015 12:54:52
Airstream - 2015 We Don't Look Back
YouTube Video:
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 0% [No Votes]
85% 85% 0% [No Votes]
80% 80% 100% [1 Vote]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Search DDG