Theme Switcher
Switch to:


Join us over at the Facebook replacement Join up and become part of 2018's great migration off of Facebook.


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6924
Comments: 16855
Ratings: 5042
Forum Posts: 22613
Search DDG
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2014 Articles » Xtasy - 2014 Revolution
Xtasy - 2014 Revolution

ALBUM: Revolution
LABEL: Melodic Rock Records
YEAR: 2014


LINEUP: Silvia - vocals * Angel, Jorge - guitars * David - bass * Tutumba - drums * Jakin - keyboards

TRACK LISTING: 01 Stronger * 02 Revolution * 03 Million Miles Away * 04 All For One * 05 Scream * 06 Is It You * 07 Rebel Rider * 08 Many Years * 09 Rocking The World * 10 Bye Bye



For me, Spanish band Xtasy return me to the days of a band like Nexx who were a popular draw back on this website (well the earlier incarnation thereof: Heart Of The Rock). Of course the similarity lie in the female lead vocals, and the 2014 version of Spanish female fronted melodic rock is ably led by this band. Signed to Melodic Rock Records, Xtasy have got a foot in the door, but this can only be leveraged by having a good presence and some solid songs, and this band has it. Formed in 2011 by guitarist Jorge and vocalist Sylvia, the duo enlisted the assistance of many well known melodic rock musicians throughout Spain. By 2013, the duo migrated out of the studio with a proper band lineup. In 2014, the basis of the material of 'Revolution' was forged, with Swedish maestro Erik Martensson taking control behind the mastering dials.

The Songs
There's no shortage of great songs onboard. I will admit to passing this lot over when I first heard them, but after giving them a second chance, I'm quite glad I did, as I discovered some cool songs here, plus some damned good musicianship throughout. The lead-off track 'Stronger' is an impressive introduction, an all-round winner on many fronts. The vocals of Sylvia remind me in parts of Dutch AOR goddess Angela Groothuizen from Angela And The Rude though the music on offer is much heavier than our Dutch friends. This is pretty evident on the power-ballad 'Many Years', while a song like 'Rocking The World' hints at the sort of development that Xtasy could easily take to a new level. Mostly, it's powerful melodic efforts such as the title track, 'Scream' and 'Rebel Rider' which are this band's bread and butter. Xtasy do well on the ballads too. The aforementioned 'Many Years', but let's not forget the excellent 'Is It You' and album closer 'Bye Bye', both lovely affairs.

In Summary
Andrew from Melodic Rock Records signed a handful of Spanish acts during the year. Guru, Secret, Airless, Sound Of Eternity along with Xtasy.. being but a few. It seems there is a rich vein of melodic rock and AOR to be mined here, so we should all keep an eye out for developments in this part of the world. Apart from the very dark and prog metal oriented cover art which was a bit of a detractor, Xtasy are well worth your time and investment. Check out the material underneath.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

#1 | gdazegod on May 19 2015 14:11:14
Xtasy - 2014 Stronger
#2 | gdazegod on May 19 2015 14:12:15
Xtasy - 2015 Revolution
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 0% [No Votes]
85% 85% 50% [1 Vote]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 50% [1 Vote]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Articles Cloud
Pablo Cruise - 1978 Worlds Away, Barnes, Jimmy - 1985 For The Working Class Man, Best of 2009 - 2009 englandashes, Redvette - 1982 Redvette, Medlocke, Rick (And Blackfoot) - 1987 Rick Medlocke And Blackfoot, Supertramp - 1979 Breakfast In America, Rods, The - 1981 The Rods, Chilliwack - 1982 Opus X, Cast Of Shadows - 1993 Face The Time, Toto - 1981 Turn Back, Balanx - 1987 One, Roulette (Sweden) - 2008 Better Late Than Never, Anka, Paul - 1979 Headlines, Sugarcreek - 1981 Live At The Roxy, Overkill - 2010 Ironbound
Wounded Bird Joe Lynn Turner Saxon Ratt Blackberry Smoke MARS Project Robby Valentine Josh Kelley Renee Armand Iron Maiden Cage The Scorpions Chastain Big Big Train Mark Boals John Lawton Meldrum Secret Sphere Megaton Blonde Barclay James Harvest Journey Live Albums Seventh Key Pretty Maids Kiki Dee Granati Bros EP Orange Crush Oz Wounded Bird Billy Greer Rock Candy Records Streets Steve Walsh Mike Slamer Electric Light Orchestra Kelly Grocutt Leverage The (USA) Heat
All Tags