Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16579
Ratings: 4791
Forum Posts: 21868
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 1990 Articles » London - 1990 Playa Del Rock
London - 1990 Playa Del Rock

ARTIST: London
ALBUM: Playa Del Rock
LABEL: Noise
SERIAL: N 0143-2, SPV 84-47932
YEAR: 1990


LINEUP: Nadir D'Priest - vocals * Sean Lewis - guitar * Brian West - bass * Vince Gilbert - keyboards, synths, hammond organ * Alan Krigger - drums

Guests: Guy Babylon, Jimmy Greenspoon - keyboards * Richie Podolor - mandolin, production

TRACK LISTING: 01 Ride You Through The Night * 02 Russian Winter * 03 It's So Easy * 04 Miss You * 05 Money Honey * 06 Love Games * 07 Heart Beat (It's All Right) * 08 Hot Child In The City * 09 The Wall * 10 Been Around Before


I'm still staggered at the worldwide success that a band like Motley Crue has. For mine, a throughly under-whelming outfit who probably should've given up the ghost after their second album 'Shout At The Devil' and saved everyone the trouble, and a whole bunch of cash from their wallets. That's just me speaking, but when I see a far superior musical outfit such as London who were on the L.A scene at the same time, you wondered if punters were backing the wrong horse! I reviewed their 'Don't Cry Wolf' album a few months back and promised to follow the band up with another article, and here we are: 1990's 'Playa De Rock'.

The Songs
This album still sounds great twenty years later, which is something I can't apply to other albums from the same timeframe. Nadir D'Priest is one of the best hard rock vocalists ever to be unearthed from the Sunset Strip, and he's a pretty good songwriter too. By this stage, London had gone through numerous line-up changes, with Nadir and bassist Brian West the only mainstays. Joining the band for this effort were former Giuffria drummer Alan Krigger, former Sin and Jag Wire keyboardist Vince Gilbert plus guitarist Sean Lewis (previously of Roadrunner). There is some absolute essential listening on this platter. The supreme power ballad 'Miss You', the hard driving 'Russian Winter', the amazing 'It's So Easy', the slow burn of 'Heart Beat (It's All Right'), or the chugging hard rock of the opener 'Ride You Through The Night'. For something different, Nadir and crew throw their weight behind Nick Gilder's 'Hot Child In The City'. Not as fluent as the original, good to hear nonetheless.

In Summary
Released out of Germany through Noise Records, this came back into the U.S as an import CD during 1990. How weird is that? The album went under the D'Priest band-name, but it is essentially the same album, just different branding. It was the band's last studio album, though from reports on their website, a new album is forthcoming. Their latest 2014 album 'London Live' was produced by Michael Wagener, and includes two new studio tracks. Let's hope Nadir can land us another big fish!

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 100% [1 Vote]
85% 85% 0% [No Votes]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Search DDG