Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Latest Comments
Black Sabbath - 1989 Devi...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Head...
Neal Schon - 1989 Softly ...
Getting back into this al...
Neal Schon - 1989 The The...
Valentine - 1990 Where Ar...
Burns Sisters - 1989 Answ...
Distance - 1989 Speech Of...
Distance - 1989 Softly Sp...
Well her real name is Fra...
It is weird that her firs...
Franne Golde - 1980 The N...
Masquerade - 1992 Sudden ...
I look to the sky with a ...
Lame arsed Home Counties...
Filth. Utter, Utter, Utter.
Another fine example of a...
For me Salisbury is their...
Can't believe I never com...
I saw Priest live in 2005...
You must login to post a message.

19-11-2017 09:44
Burn (UK) will have their new album 'Ice Age' released in Japan via Marquee/Avalon on Nov 22. The album is then released worldwide on Jan 19th 2018 via Melodicrock Records.

19-11-2017 09:40
I was a bit cranky last week, waiting for various things to happen with the website transition. God it's good to be back. Didn't Gary Glitter sing a song like that? dogrun

19-11-2017 07:06
Note to all Members. Please review your Message inboxes. Some of these are getting rather large. Thanks.

19-11-2017 03:05
OK, all the YouTube videos are working again. Just use the YT link, and then encase in tags [ youtube] at the start, [/ youtube] at the end. Cool. Thumbs Up

12-11-2017 02:39
Starting to crank out some reviews now. Woah!

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 1975 Articles » Hawkwind - 1975 Warrior On The Edge Of Time
Hawkwind - 1975 Warrior On The Edge Of Time

ARTIST: Hawkwind
ALBUM: Warrior On The Edge Of Time
LABEL: United Artists
YEAR: 1975
CD REISSUE: 1992, Dojo (UK), DOJO CD 84


LINEUP: Michael Moorcock - vocals ('The Wizard Blew His Horn' and 'Warriors') * Dave Brock - guitar, keyboards, vocals, bass ('Opa-Loka') * Nik Turner - saxophone, flute, vocals ('Standing at the Edge', 'Dying Seas') * Lemmy (Ian Kilmister) - bass, vocals ('Motorhead') * Simon House - violin, mellotron, VCS3,keyboards * Simon King, Alan Powell - drums, percussion

TRACK LISTING: 01 Assault & Battery Part I * 02 The Golden Void Part II * 03 The Wizard Blew His Horn * 04 Opa-Loka * 05 The Demented Man * 06 Magnu * 07 Standing At The Edge * 08 Spiral Galaxy 28948 * 09 Warriors * 10 Dying Seas * 11 Kings Of Speed

WEBLINKS: www.hawkwind.com

It wasn't until the 70's decade was nearly finished, that I fell upon Hawkwind. Perhaps a bit of cover art seduction, band name attraction, and the availability of their LP's in the second hand bins in my home town during my high school era. Anyway, the first LP of theirs which landed in my collection was this one, 'Warrior On The Edge Of Time'. I had read up extensively on the band due to some books that I had managed to acquire. Surprisingly, this was well before the Internet age. Wonders never cease. WOTEOT was Hawkwind's sixth album (if you count 1973's live set 'Space Ritual'), this one released in 1975. We've reviewed two of those earlier efforts (see links below), so you can also read a bit of their history from there.

The Songs
I've always enjoyed the symphonic/psychedelic space rock epic of 'Assault And Battery Part I', which kicks this album off. The airy synth strings pervades this song all the way through. The band adds a dose of flute and some lyrics straight out of a Larry Niven sci-fi novel. Seguing into 'The Golden Void Part II', it's a continuation of Hawkwind's haunting space rock, the band heading down the corridor of fame, as the lyrics imply. Most of the lyrics have Michael Moorcock's indelible hand all over it. This is pretty good stuff. 'The Wizard Blew His Horn' is more spoken word than anything else. Like space rock poetry. If Kiwi band Blerta ever decided to do sci-fi, then this is what they would sound like. It moves on into 'Opa-Loka', featuring an insistent snare back-beat of which five minutes is a bit too much to be honest. In later years, Lemmy called this song 'crap'! He wouldn't be far from the truth. 'The Demented Man' moves into acoustic territory, it's like we've got a spacefaring astronaut standing on the cliff of an alien planet playing an acoustic guitar. Stay with me on this one.. lol! 'Magnu' sees Hawkwind getting back to hard rock. At 8 minutes, it might be a tall order to get through, but at least it has total variety within as the instrumentation is totally off the planet. 'Standing At The Edge' is a vocal featurette, which has crazed sound effects that the BBC Radiophonic Workshop (a la Doctor Who) would be proud of. The instrumental 'Spiral Galaxy 28948' is quite beautiful stuff. Written by drummer Simon House, it's laden with synthesizers, this one is my pick on the album. 'Warriors' is another bit of Moorcock's lyrical spoken word in the style of a Dalek voice. I was waiting for the phrase 'Destroy.. Destroy!!' to come chiming in. 'Dying Seas' and 'Kings Of Speed' finish things up in a mostly hard rock style. The latter could be an indicator of things to come, as it has early Motorhead written all over it thanks to Lemmy's influence, despite some bayou fiddle work shining through.

In Summary
'Kings Of Speed' and the track 'Motorhead' (which didn't appear on the original release of this LP) would allow Lemmy to develop this style even more when he decided to form Motorhead soon after. WOTEOT would be Hawkwind's final release for United Artists, departing to join Charisma for 1976's 'Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music'. You can read more about the makings of the album, and the critique that surrounded it after release click here...

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
Tags: Hawkwind 
#1 | gdazegod on May 23 2015 13:09:26
Hawkwind - Spiral Galaxy 28948

28948 is keyboardist's Simon House's birthday.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Asia - 1994 Aria, Waroff, Paul -1979 California Son, Headpins - 1983 Line Of Fire, Blackfoot - 1984 Vertical Smiles, Helker - 2017 Firesoul, Avalon (Canada) - 1977 Voice Of Life, Southern Sons - 1992 Nothing But The Truth, New Man - 1986 New Man, Pilgrym - 2004 Pilgrimage, Best Of 2008 - 2008 gdazegod, Pain Of Salvation - 2002 Remedy Lane, Norton, Paul - 1990 Under A Southern Sky, Y & T - 1984 In Rock We Trust, Badfinger - 1981 Say No More, Vhaldemar - 2003 I Made My Own Hell
Cooper And Ross Three Lions Mouth Of Clay 38 Special Billy Satellite Danny Chauncey Michele Luppi Jody Bongiovi Stampede Rock Candy Records Vengeance Fastway Paul Laine Pinnacle Point Lynx Angel Rock Candy Records The V Veronica Freeman Benedictum Aries Zoid Zeabra Oklahoma EP ZZYZX Merry N Amun Re Its A Beautiful Day Wounded Bird Alessi Kiss Yesterrock Alyson Avenue Unicorn Keely Keeling Johnny And The Distractions Marillion Jefferson Starship Marty Balin Uriah Heep
All Tags
Search DDG