Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Latest Comments
Black Sabbath - 1989 Devi...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Head...
Neal Schon - 1989 Softly ...
Getting back into this al...
Neal Schon - 1989 The The...
Valentine - 1990 Where Ar...
Burns Sisters - 1989 Answ...
Distance - 1989 Speech Of...
Distance - 1989 Softly Sp...
Well her real name is Fra...
It is weird that her firs...
Franne Golde - 1980 The N...
Masquerade - 1992 Sudden ...
I look to the sky with a ...
Lame arsed Home Counties...
Filth. Utter, Utter, Utter.
Another fine example of a...
For me Salisbury is their...
Can't believe I never com...
I saw Priest live in 2005...
You must login to post a message.

19-11-2017 09:44
Burn (UK) will have their new album 'Ice Age' released in Japan via Marquee/Avalon on Nov 22. The album is then released worldwide on Jan 19th 2018 via Melodicrock Records.

19-11-2017 09:40
I was a bit cranky last week, waiting for various things to happen with the website transition. God it's good to be back. Didn't Gary Glitter sing a song like that? dogrun

19-11-2017 07:06
Note to all Members. Please review your Message inboxes. Some of these are getting rather large. Thanks.

19-11-2017 03:05
OK, all the YouTube videos are working again. Just use the YT link, and then encase in tags [ youtube] at the start, [/ youtube] at the end. Cool. Thumbs Up

12-11-2017 02:39
Starting to crank out some reviews now. Woah!

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 1991 Articles » Bloodgood - 1991 All Stand Together
Bloodgood - 1991 All Stand Together

ARTIST: Bloodgood
ALBUM: All Stand Together
LABEL: Broken Records
SERIAL: CD 08793
YEAR: 1991


LINEUP: Michael Bloodgood - bass * Les Carlsen - lead vocals * Paul Jackson - guitars * Tim Heintz - keyboards * David Huff - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 S.O.S * 02 All Stand Together * 03 Escape From The Fire * 04 Out Of Love * 05 Say Goodbye * 06 Kingdom Come * 07 Fear No Evil * 08 Help Me * 09 Rounded Are The Rocks * 10 Lies In The Dark * 11 Streetlight Dancer * 12 I Want to Live In Your Heart

WEBLINKS: www.bloodgoodband.com

Formed in Seattle in 1984, Bloodgood burst onto the scene with it's demo 'Metal Missionaries', which sold over 5000 copies at their early shows. Their 1986 eponymous debut was produced by Darrell Mansfield and musically similar to other 80's metal bands at the time, despite it's lyrics soaked in the blood of Christ. Additional releases followed which established Bloodgood as one of the kings of the white metal kingdom. Unlike Stryper or Barren Cross, Bloodgood's sound was slightly more metallic, which garnered them a decent following in the UK. In 1991 the group attempted to move into a more mainstream direction and the result is 'All Stand Together'.

The Songs
While Bloodgood's hardcore followers most likely cringed to the addition of synthesizers and fluttering keys, fans of AOR most likely rejoiced in the process. Although there were many genre releases to better serve melodic rock fans at this time, 'All Stand Together' isn't without it's moments. Opener 'S.O.S.' is a straight ahead rocker ala Dokken or Loudness, as is the title track which meanders a bit. The gates of AOR heaven open slightly for 'Escape From The Fire' and 'Out Of Love', both decent stabs at melodic rock despite their preachy lyrics. The group has recorded some amazing ballads in the past and 'Say Goodbye' is no exception, proving the band's diversity beyond Bible thumping counterparts like Whitecross or Leviticus. Despite their AOR sheen, the following tracks 'Kingdom Come', 'Fear No Evil' and 'Help Me' come off as mere filler. Thankfully 'Rounded Are The Rocks' heats things back up, making way for a string of killer cuts; 'Lies In The Dark', 'Streetlight Dancer' and 'I Want To Live In Your Heart'. The later is the album's highlight and perhaps one of the group's finer moments.

In Summary
After five studio albums and three live releases, the group officially disbanded in 1994. Bloodgood reformed in 2006 and have been performing several times a year since in the U.S. and Europe. Original members Michael Bloodgood and Les Carlsen remain along with longtime drummer Kevin Whistler (drums), longtime guitarist Paul Jackson and guitarist Oz Fox of Stryper fame. In 2013, The band employed a popular fan-funding program to raise the money they needed to record their first album in 22 years. 'Dangerously Close' was a melodic heavy metal/hard rock album that could have been the immediate follow-up to 'All Stand Together'.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
Tags: Bloodgood 
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Who, The - 1978 Who Are You, AC/DC - 2012 Live At River Plate, White Honey - 1979 Some Kinda Woman, Black Sabbath - 1972 Vol 4, Cain, Jonathan (Band) - 1977 Windy City Breakdown, Jet Red - 1989 Jet Red, Cole, Jude - 1990 A View From Third Street, Vision Fields - 1992 Ice Sail (soundtrack), Madcats - 1981 Streetgame, Rolling Stones, The - 1986 Dirty Work, Boston - 1976 Boston, Autograph - 2003 Buzz, Hudson - 1972 Hudson, Wolff, Jessica - 2013 Renegade, Slade - 1974 Slade In Flame
Time Bandits Hungry Heart Elevener Nitro Michael Batio Jim Gilette Soundtrack Various Artists SO Pat Travers Band Jack Green Jimmy Barnes Live Albums Harlequin (Canada) Blood Red Saints Eternal Reign Chameleon Dugan McNeill Blue (UK) Lionville Night Flight Orchestra Venom Call Me Daniel Amos Rock Candy Records Pat Thrall Hughes And Thrall Glenn Hughes Accept Bill Meyers Kevin McCourt Code Steve Miller Band Bon Jovi Freakshow GPS Silent Rage Metallica Pallas
All Tags
Search DDG