Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Latest Comments
Keldian - 2017 Blood Red ...
No, I'm changing my mind ...
Code Red - 2017 Heat Of T...
Yeah, I quite liked this,...
Midnite City - 2017 Summe...
Target - 1979 Taxman [yo...
Cher - 1982 Rudy [youtub...
Cher - 1982 Games [youtu...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Devi...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Head...
Neal Schon - 1989 Softly ...
Getting back into this al...
Neal Schon - 1989 The The...
Valentine - 1990 Where Ar...
Burns Sisters - 1989 Answ...
Distance - 1989 Speech Of...
Distance - 1989 Softly Sp...
Well her real name is Fra...
You must login to post a message.

19-11-2017 09:44
Burn (UK) will have their new album 'Ice Age' released in Japan via Marquee/Avalon on Nov 22. The album is then released worldwide on Jan 19th 2018 via Melodicrock Records.

19-11-2017 09:40
I was a bit cranky last week, waiting for various things to happen with the website transition. God it's good to be back. Didn't Gary Glitter sing a song like that? dogrun

19-11-2017 07:06
Note to all Members. Please review your Message inboxes. Some of these are getting rather large. Thanks.

19-11-2017 03:05
OK, all the YouTube videos are working again. Just use the YT link, and then encase in tags [ youtube] at the start, [/ youtube] at the end. Cool. Thumbs Up

12-11-2017 02:39
Starting to crank out some reviews now. Woah!

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2014 Articles » Whiskey Myers - 2014 Early Morning Shakes
Whiskey Myers - 2014 Early Morning Shakes

ARTIST: Whiskey Myers
ALBUM: Early Morning Shakes
LABEL: Wiggy Thump Records
YEAR: 2014


LINEUP: Cody Cannon - lead vocals, acoustic guitar * Cody Tate, John Jeffers - rhythm & lead guitar, vocals * Gary Brown - bass * Jeff Hogg - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Early Morning Shakes * 02 Hard Row To Hoe * 03 Dogwood * 04 Shelter From The Rain * 05 Home * 06 Headsrone * 07 Where The Sun Don't Shine * 08 Reckoning * 09 Wild Baby Shake Me * 10 Lighting * 11 Need A Little Time Off For Bad Behavior * 12 Colloquy


WEBLINKS: www.whiskeymyers.com

Whiskey Myers is back with their unique brand of southern rock and heavy country music. 'Early Morning Shakes' is the band's third album, and their long awaited follow-up to the 2011 release 'Firewater'. I was introduced to the band by a fellow member on this website, and I thank god that I took notice and invested in this band. If you thought 'Firewater' sets the bar then 'Early Morning Shakes' takes it to another level. The album was produced by Dave Cobb, whose credits include Waylon Jennings and Shooter Jennings.

The Songs
Kicking off with the title track 'Early Morning Shakes', it has a great southern bluesy vibe to it. The backing vocals, harmonica, and electric guitar set the scene for the rest of the CD. Cody Cannon has hints of John Mellencamp in his vocal style. 'Hard Road To Hoe' follows again with some outstanding guitaring. 'Dogwood' is next, this picks up where 'Broken Window Serenade' left off. A beautiful, well-written song, about two people that have taken different paths in life. 'Home' is the first single taken off the CD. Returning to that southern sound which was so familiar on 'Firewater', the backing vocals and dueling guitars make this a stand out song. 'Wild Baby Shake Me' is two songs in one, it starts off as a blistering riff laden rocker then halfway through the tempo slows down with great female backing vocals and serious shit kicking guitaring from Cody Tate and John Jeffers. There are a few longer southern rock ballads on the album with 'Lightning' and 'Colloquy'. They also cover David Allen Coe's 'Need A Little Time Off For Bad Behavior', which they have kept to the same format but recorded it in a heavier style and stamped their name all over it.

In Summary
Whiskey Myers have delivered the goods on this release. I did not think they could top 'Firewater', but they have on this. The production, the mix the tight as a duck arse musicianship makes this a special CD. There is something refreshing about this one, it has a feel good factor to it and you cant help just letting those swampy grooves take over you. I would give this a 10/10 rating and not a mention of Lynyrd Skynyrd or The Outlaws.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
#1 | rkbluez on March 02 2014 01:41:51
Agree with you Dave these guys are great...solid Southern Rock and very addictive stuff.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
It's Alive - 1993 Earthquake Visions, Trower, Robin - 1973 Twice Removed From Yesterday, Illustrator - 1989 Somewhere In This World, Hartmann - 2007 Home, Foreigner - 1981 4, Fairchild - 1978 Fairchild, D'Ercole - 2016 No Place Like Home, Europe - 1988 Out Of This World, Bliss Band - 1979 Neon Smiles, Outloud - 2014 Let's Get Serious, Hall And Oates - 1997 Marigold Sky, Blue Oyster Cult - 1978 Some Enchanted Evening (Live), Jameson, Nick - 1986 A Crowd Of One, Dolphin Brothers - 1987 Catch The Fall, Westwind - 1983 Westwind
Prism Saker S.S Fools Son Of A Bitch U.D.O Accept Blackbury Accident Grand Funk Railroad Jake Jones Legs Diamond Giuffria Lodgic Coldspell Hatchery Palace Off Broadway Oleander Requiem Supertramp Genocide Toto Rock Candy Records Harlan Cage Sunset Boulevard Sturm Und Drang Rock Candy Records The Outlaws Coastland Ride Yngwie Malmsteen Foreigner Great White Ironhorse (USA) Smith And Hayes
All Tags
Search DDG