Theme Switcher
Switch to:


Join us over at the Facebook replacement Join up and become part of 2018's great migration off of Facebook.


Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6679
Comments: 16714
Ratings: 4967
Forum Posts: 22735
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2006 Articles » Wolverine - 2006 Still
Wolverine - 2006 Still

ARTIST: Wolverine
ALBUM: Still
LABEL: Candlelight Records
YEAR: 2006


LINEUP: Thomas Jansson - bass * Marcus Losbjer - drums * Mikael Zell - guitars * Andreas Baglien - keyboards * Stefan Zell - vocals

TRACK LISTING: 01 A House Of Plague * 02 Bleeding * 03 taste Of Sand * 04 Nothing More * 05 Sleepy Town * 06 Liar On The Mount * 07 Hiding * 08 This Cold Heart Of Mine * 09 And She Slowly Dies



I will unapologetically tout this album until the end of time, because it is the very definition of an overlooked prog metal gem. Came out of nowhere, and, sadly, into partial obscurity it went.

The Songs
Slow, building intro, meditative first strophe and a mindblowingly catchy chorus - 'A House Of Plague' strikes you down with Wolverine fever. You're welcome. 'Bleeding' hits you with a sense of tangible exasperation, and 'Taste Of Sand' prolongs the effect with Stefan Zell's marvelous crooning, indeed like fine sand gliding through an hourglass. 'Nothing More' is a calm slow dirge of a broken heart, which effectively closes the first half of the album, and opening the second is the unusual 'Sleepy Town', a very 'pop' tune carried by looping drum beats and an otherwordly atmosphere. Isolation, quiet despair, reconcilement. 'Liar On The Mount' is a true prog metal anthem, and a biting, controversial one, about boldly renouncing God, with pride. It is followed by another intrinsically tranquil number about making peace with the constant masking of one's true intentions and self that is in the core of social relations nowadays. 'This Cold Heart Of Mine' and 'And She Slowly Dies' make sure the album doesn't end with this sense of peace and that it thoroughly disturbs you and makes you rethink your position on love, justice and human destiny, one with righteous anger, the other with indelible sadness and helplessness.

In Summary
No irregular time signatures, no stop-and-go riffs, no complexity that goes over the head of the band itself and let alone its listeners, just an exploratory attitude in regards to music. That's what marks Wolverine's unusual style of dark progressive metal and what makes this album such a great listen.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Shy - 1985 Brave The Storm, Zombies, The (featuring Colin Blunstone & Rod Argent) - 2011 Breathe Out, Breathe In, Stun Leer - 1998 Once, Mercyful Fate - 1983 Melissa, Ghost Machinery - 2004 Haunting Remains, Secret Smile - 2003 The Road Less Traveled, Angel, Julian - 2000, Stone Fury - 1986 Let Them Talk, McLoone, Steve - 2003 Par-Doo!, Southern Steel - 1974 Get On Through, Roulette - 2001 Lifeline, Hungry Heart - 2015 Dirty Italian Job, 220 Volt - 1988 Eye To Eye, Hibria - 2004 Defying The Rules, Hot Flash - 1977 First Attack! They'll Never Take Us Alive
Jefferson Starship Yes Ten Years After Alvin Lee Soul Shock Remedy Idle Tears Yesterrock VII Gates Aniday Robby Valentine DC Star Friction Fairchild Harmony The Binges Craig Mirijanian Butch Walker Eric Carmen Heinz Sight Anthem Helloween Eloy Midnite City Coverdale/Page Duke Jupiter Jorn Lake Barooga Bandit Riverdogs Rock Candy Records Lec Zorn Project Dokken Rock Candy Records Alibi Black Star Riders
All Tags