Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16620
Ratings: 4879
Forum Posts: 22005
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 1981 Articles » Novo Combo - 1981 Novo Combo
Novo Combo - 1981 Novo Combo

ARTIST: Novo Combo
ALBUM: Novo Combo
LABEL: Polydor
SERIAL: PD-1-6331
YEAR: 1981


LINEUP: Stephen Dees - lead vocals, bass * Pete Hewlett - guitars, vocals * Jack Griffith - guitars * Michael Shrieve - drums, percussion

TRACK LISTING: 01 Up Periscope * 02 City Bound (E Train) * 03 We Need Love * 04 Long Road * 05 Tattoo * 06 Don't Do That * 07 Sorry (For The Delay) * 08 Axis Will Turn * 09 Light Of The World * 10 Do You Wanna Shake? * 11 Hard To Say Goodbye

For some reason, New York band Novo Combo seem to have a presence here at this site. Even though their tenure was brief during the early 80's, they packed some serious pedigree into their two album run, that deserves another look. Bassist Stephen Dees was formerly with Hall & Oates, and the owner of a 1977 solo album 'Hip Shot'. Pete Hewlett had stints with Sweet Lightning and Euclid Beach Band, before moving from Cleveland to New York where he answered an audition to join Dees, lead guitarist Jack Griffith and former Santana drummer Mike Shrieve. Novo Combo were all about jangly pop rock, with a definite nod to The Police, who were big news during the early 80's era.

The Songs
You hear this early on with the album's first two songs: 'Up Periscope' and 'City Bound (E Train)', both prime examples of The Police's sparse sounding pop rock. 'Long Road' has a jangly pop meets reggae vibe, while 'Tattoo' is a likeable tune with a pulsing metronome, it has a danceable quality too. Don't be put off by that comment. Once you listen to this song you'll understand where I am coming from. Mike Shrieve's regimented drum-work dominates 'Don't Do That', but unfortunately the song isn't that memorable. 'Sorry (For The Delay)' is a faster paced tune which by now has acquired the Novo Combo template by default; there's a cool guitar solo at the 2 minute mark adding some spice. 'Axis Will Turn' is noticeable for its staccato rhythms, but when it does stretch out, it sounds far more hard rocking than the rest of the LP's material. Shrieve is again influential with his percussion tricks on 'Light Of The World'. Hard not to think of early 80's Santana when listening to this. 'Do You Wanna Shake' is the album's change-up moment. A blues-boogie rock n roll workout which is interesting for its variety and difference, perhaps a nod to the likes of Aerosmith or Led Zeppelin.

In Summary
Novo Combo would move onto their second LP 'The Animation Generation' the following year, however Jack Griffith would depart to be replaced by Carlos Rios, himself an accomplished guitarist who has worked with Gino Vanelli, Lionel Richie, Boz Scaggs and Larry Carlton among others. The band would release just these two albums before the members moved on to other projects.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

#1 | reyno-roxx on September 09 2013 20:46:31
I absolutely love this album. 'City Bound (E Train)' was one of the first songs Desmond Child penned for other artists post DCandR and his collaboration with Kiss.
#2 | Eric on September 09 2013 23:23:48
I agree, AOR at its best.
#3 | super80boy on May 25 2015 16:39:15
I hadn't listened to this in many years, not sure why someone hasn't done a reissue on this one, it's deserving. Excellent AOR new wave rock that is really strong on Side One. Side Two veers off into some interesting creative tangents, but it's still entertaining.
#4 | rkbluez on January 05 2016 21:47:00
Hard to believe no one has done this on CD yet...amazing the stuff still not out on stead of readily available stuff RC should be doing stuff like this...great album
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 100% [1 Vote]
85% 85% 0% [No Votes]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Search DDG