Theme Switcher
Switch to:


Join us over at the Facebook replacement Join up and become part of 2018's great migration off of Facebook.


Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6679
Comments: 16714
Ratings: 4967
Forum Posts: 22735
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2013 Articles » Indicco - 2013 Karmalion
Indicco - 2013 Karmalion

ARTIST: Indicco
ALBUM: Karmalion
LABEL: New Venture Music
SERIAL: New Venture 0002
YEAR: 2013


LINEUP: Indigo Balboa - vocals, rhythm guitar, keyboards * Paco Cerezo - guitar, backing vocals, keyboards * Angel Valdegrama - keyboards * Antonio Mu¤oz, Mr X - bass * Lean Martinez - drums * Mario Carri˘n - drums, backing vocals

TRACK LISTING: 01 Crying * 02 Days Of Wine And Roses * 03 All About You * 04 Wrong * 05 Feels So Good * 06 The Voice Of The Wind * 07 Leaving Me * 08 Grateful * 09 Life In Your Lightness (Moonlight) * 10 Ride The Wave * 11 Feel No Shame



Featuring membership from two bands featured here previously, Indicco are Spain's new melodic rock hope for 2013. This Madrid based band are five years old, and include members from 91 Suite and recent addition - drummer Mario Carri˘n from The Val. Formed around the pairing of Indigo Balboa and 91 Suite founding guitarist Paco Cerezo, the duo wrote songs built around American styled melodic rock, with influences ranging from the typical fertile 80's soundscapes of Survivor, John Waite and Toto, to name a few. Not only that, but seasoned American artist and producer Mark Spiro chips in with a handful of co-songwrites, plus he recorded and produced three songs on the album. Also guesting are Jimi Jamison and Tim Pierce; neither bloke needs an introduction on this website lol! From my perspective, Indicco have similar musical claims to other acts (coincidentally Avenue of Allies acts) in Fabbox and Hartmann, being the Spanish equivalent thereof.

The Songs
'Crying' is a great way to kick off the album. This one reminds me of Oliver Hartmann's recent material. It has a bit of zing plus a pulsing bass line which drives the thing through with power. Balboa's vocal often a deadringer, while the keyboard motif is less about the 80's and more about modern stylings. 'Days Of Wine And Roses' is an edgy rocker that gets better the further you venture inside. There's a nice razor sharp solo from Paco that adds sizzle to this song. The first of the Mark Spiro tracks 'All About You' is distinctive as it is familiar. The acoustic wash evoking memories of the great plains and the midwest of the USA. I'm sure Spain has its share of rural expanse too but it hasn't been represented in song as much as the USA has. Mark Spiro and Tim Pierce add their contribution to this one. 'Wrong' is another Spiro co-write, it's a gentle meander with a sound that cascades over your senses. 'The Voice Of The Wind' is one of the harder rocking tracks here, some coarse sounding guitar work on display. On the other hand, 'Leaving Me' again features Spiro and Pierce; and is restrained affair mostly. Moving on from the instrumental 'Grateful', Indicco move up a gear or two for the energetic 'Life In Your Lightness (Moonlight)'; a racy guitar rocker, whereas 'Ride The Wave' is a piano ballad followed by the mid-tempo rock of 'Feel No Shame' which completes the album.

In Summary
Things seem to be looking up for this Spanish outfit, and with touring around Spain with international acts, it's a good way to build up a profile. Musically, I still feel there's quite a way to go before Indicco can break out. Maybe another album or two to give their sound some unique identity and to strengthen their songwriting craft. Rome wasn't built in a day, and nor dare I say, was Madrid.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Utopia - 1974 Todd Rundgren's Utopia, Baby Blue - 1988 American Boys, Toto - 1979 Hydra, Mister Kite - 2004 Box Of Fear, Starz - 1977 Violation, Hagar, Sammy - 1980 Danger Zone, Merry N - 1993 Under Pressure, Off Broadway - 1980 Quick Turns, Gowan - 1990 Lost Brotherhood, Reckless (Sweden) -1994 Reckless, Genesis - 1976 A Trick Of The Tail, Bush, Stan - 2014 The Ultimate, Face Dancer - 2016 Brand New Faces, Money, Eddie - 1983 Where's The Party, Taglieri, John - 2009 Lives Project [ep]
Denny Laine Best Of 2010 Silver Condor Defyance Joe Cocker Straight Lines M.O.D Light Synch Jimmy Harnen Paul Janz Frontrunner Bee Gees Actors And Actresses Andy Gibb Mark Morris Wounded Bird Sandy Stewart Rage (UK) Rock Candy Records Nutz Peter Emmett Story Rabbitt Stern Combo Meissen Anvil Aerosmith Fast Machine Fair Warning (Germany) Thunder Tribe Dogwood Glass Moon Sam Alex Hobbit Jamie Walters Bow Wow Kyoji Yamamoto Vow Wow Dennis De Young
All Tags