Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16620
Ratings: 4879
Forum Posts: 22005
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2003 Articles » Brazen Abbot - 2003 Guilty As Sin
Brazen Abbot - 2003 Guilty As Sin

ARTIST: Brazen Abbot
ALBUM: Guilty As Sin
SERIAL: SPV 085-74902 CD
YEAR: 2003


LINEUP: Nikolo Kotzev - guitars, keyboards, piano, percussion, violin * Joe Lynn Turner - vocals on 1, 4, 9, 12 * Jorn Lande - vocals on 2, 5, 7, 11 * Goran Edman - vocals on 3, 6, 8, 10 * John Leven - bass * Mic Michaeli - organ * Ian Haugland - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 One Life To Live * 02 Eyes On The Horizon * 03 I'll Be Free * 04 Slip Away * 05 Mr Earthman * 06 Like Jonah * 07 Bring The Colors Home * 08 Fools Confession * 09 Supernatural * 10 Eve * 11 A Whole Lotta Woman * 12 Guilty As Sin

WEBLINKS: www.brazenabbot.nostramusic.coM

Though Nikolo Kotsev released his Nostradamus back in 2002, filled with fellow Brazen Abbot members, it has been 6 long years since an official Brazen Abbot release. All three previous albums received critical acclaim and established Nikolo as a highly regarded musician and songwriter. It may be a few years since the last Brazen Abbot album but the formula remains the same. A good mixture of Deep Purple/Whitesnake/Glenn Hughes style hard rockers and heartfelt ballads. As he has done in the past Nikolo has used three first class vocalists. Joe Lynn Turner and Goran Edman have featured before, but Jorn Lande is a new addition to the camp. Not too shabby a player to come off the bench. The remainder of the band comprises former Europe members Mic Michaeli, John Leven and Ian Haugland. As mentioned this is a typical Brazen Abbot record, which means you are getting a more than decent dose of high energy blues tinged melodic hard rock, with a huge dose of Hammond organ in the background. Some say that Mr. Turner has had his day, but I don't think he's listening, belting the songs out as powerfully as ever. When it comes to Jorn Lande there isn't much you need to say. The guy is a vocal mastermind. And, by the way, Goran Edman is still one of melodic rocks best vocalists.

The Songs
Each get to have a good share of the limelight and give great performances. 'One Life To Live' is a usual Brazen Abbot opener and gets 'Guilty As Sin' off to a frenetic start. The band don't let up much on 'Eyes On The Horizon', Jorn Lande really hitting his stride. Goran Edman's performance on the gospel ballad 'I'll Be Free' is spine-tingling. Beautiful song. It's time for some classic Brazen Abbot on 'Slip Away'. A monster riff and the Hammond combine for a big atmospheric rocker. Love the chorus on Mr. Earthmaker, a mid to fast paced Deep Purple/Rainbow type rocker. Ian and John were both members of Clockwise, and 'Like Jonah' has a very similar sound. 'Bring The Colors Home' showcases Jorn Lande's softer side, aside from a hefty mid section. Goran's been compared to Glenn Hughes on occasion and 'Fool's Confession' is a prime example of why. One of the highlights of the album is 'Supernatural'. Joe in fine voice, accompanied by some very nifty lead work by Mr. Kotsev. It's all acoustic for the folky ballad Eve, which is completely opposite to the marauding early Whitesnake-ish rocker 'A Whole Lotta Woman'. The title track is the closer and goes on a touch too long, becoming repetitive.

In Summary
Now into the fourth Brazen Abbot release, it is clear that Nikolo Kotsev is comfortable producing this brand of music. I would be too if I was even half as good as this Bulgarian. 'Guilty As Sin' is a pulsating album that will take you back to yesteryear without sounding like it was recorded back then. Classic Rock magazine would love this album, but it's being released this year, not 30 years ago, so they'll probably miss it.

Related Articles
Brazen Abbot - 1995 Live And Learn
Brazen Abbot - 1996 Eye Of The Storm
Brazen Abbot - 2003 Interview with Nikolo Kotsev
Brazen Abbot - 2003 Guilty As Sin

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 100% [1 Vote]
85% 85% 0% [No Votes]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Search DDG