Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6825
Comments: 16465
Ratings: 4520
Forum Posts: 21582
Latest Comments
With Vinnie making his mu...
Same here, forgotten abou...
Both albums are really go...
Great band had forgotten ...
This debut is chocked ful...
The band really broadens ...
I've seen this many times...
A classic indeed and thei...
I hoped more from this al...
It was Heather Thomas in ...
Actually, 'Find The Lady'...
Cheers Dave, looking to g...
Great, Malcolm! I can hel...
Dave, it's already set up...
Great list, Jeffrey. The ...
Maybe an interview with G...
Finally got a copy of thi...
Thanks for the download y...
Yes Dave, I agree New Yor...
Very cool. I've always ha...
You must login to post a message.

23-01-2018 19:27
R.I.P Dave Holland, drummer, ex Trapeze and Judas Priest. Aged 69.

22-01-2018 21:32
Wonderful recent interview with Gary Numan.

21-01-2018 21:04
Lucky and now skint, judging by the winning bid!!

21-01-2018 20:47
Some lucky Jeff Lynne fan got a real rarity!

21-01-2018 09:43
Yep in Argent, especially as Rod Argent and Jim we’re cousins.

21-01-2018 07:43
Didn't Rodford also play in Argent and Charlie too?

20-01-2018 22:04
Jim Rodford, bass player, The Kinks, Phoenix (I think?), but I remember him with The Zombies, saw live a while back. RIP

17-01-2018 21:50
In response to Cyrille Regis, BBC 2 repeat the Adrian Chiles documentary, Whites v Blacks, How Football Changed A Nation, unbelievable true story, worth watching

17-01-2018 18:44
Review of the rather splendid `Hornal` album is in the works too.

17-01-2018 01:57
Dave and Jeff's best of 2017 wrap-up's just around the corner too.. computer work

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 1998 Articles » No Name - 1998 The Other Side
No Name - 1998 The Other Side

ALBUM: The Other Side
LABEL: Angular Records
YEAR: 1998


LINEUP: Patrik Kiefer - vocals * Yves Di Propsero - guitars * Gilles Loes - bass, bass pedals, additional guitars * Alex Rukavina - keyboards, programming 8 Chris Sonntag - drums, percussion

Guest: Iris Sonntag - flute 'No Farewell'

TRACK LISTING: 01 Horizion * 02 Dolphins Sharks And A Flood Of Sunshine * 03 Downpour Sunflowers And Sadness * 04 Strange Decisions * 05 Tan' Ibhan: Leap In The Dark * 06 Tan' Ibhan: The Discovery * 07 Tan' Ibhan: Sha'uri * 08 Tan' Ibhan: Ra * 09 Tan' Ibhan: The Ruler * 10 Tan' Ibhan: No Farewell * 11 In The name Of The Moon


It's not everyday we come across a band from the country of Luxembourg. Tucked away between Belgium, France and Germany, I'm guessing this is probably the best known band to come from there. Steeped in a neo-prog tradition, this combo have been around since 1989, and originate from Dudelange based right on the Luxembourg/French border in the south. If you're a fan of Marillion, IQ and other bands of that ilk, then No Name will be right up your alley. 'The Other Side' was (up to this point) the band's third album. It's melodic, not overly heavy, and well versed on typical progressive themes. Of particular interest is the combined 36 minute epic 'Tan Ibhan' which is made up six segments. I like the cover art for this album too; all to do with stargates and precedes the theme used by Pagans Mind on their 2002 classic 'Celestial Entrance' by at least four years.

The Songs
Singer Patrick Kiefer has a voice that is quite commercial sounding; if he was singing in the previous decade comparisons could easily be made to new romantic bands such as Duran Duran, Spandau Ballet etc. You get my drift.. However it's progressive rock that is the prevailing style here, from the artistic opener 'Horizon' to the weirdly titled pairing of 'Dolphins, Sharks And A Flood Of Sunshine' and 'Downpour, Sunflowers And Sadness'. As mentioned, it's the 6 part epic 'Tan Ibhan' which is the piece de resistance here. If you read through the lyrics, the tale weaves its way across the desert and into Egypt. Mention of rulers and Ra all intersect across the extended playing time. Of course, this is as progressive as it gets, so revellers of this sub-genre and style won't be disappointed.

In Summary
Since this release, No Name have released a pair of EP's, a newer album in 2006 simply called '4' plus a 20th anniversary CD in 2009 called '20 Candles'. Sounds like a birthday celebration to me! For prog fans, a worthwhile band to check out, probably less so for AORsters looking for more in the way of hard rocking energy.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

#1 | Eric on September 30 2012 02:44:33
Very good!
#2 | swazi on October 03 2012 12:20:43
Yes, very good, indeed! In 1998 this band released another CD called "The secret Garden".
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Quiet Riot - 2014 10, Jefferson Starship - 1984 Nuclear Furniture, Nutz - 1974 Nutz, Oleander - 2003 Joyride, Honeymoon Suite - 1991 Monsters Under The Bed, U.D.O - 1991 Timebomb, Tradewind - 1985 Tradewind, Faith Band - 1977 Excuse Me, I Just Cut A Record.., Red - 1983 In Motion, The Essential Series - 2017 Thrash Metal (Volume 1), by Dtabachn, Helix - 1985 Long Way To Heaven, Worrall - 1991 Worrall, C.C.C.P - 1986 Let's Spend The Night Together, Skid Row (USA) - 1995 Subhuman Race, Yellow Dog - 1978 Beware Of The Dog
Keats The Lambrettas Silverado Saga Jim Jidhed Terra Nova Diamond Head Radiation Romeos House Of Shakira Kiki Dee Johnny And The Distractions Metallica Tommy Shaw Jay Ferguson Xinema Sven Larsson Street Talk Slade The Who Miss Behaviour EP Ellis Island (USA) Nasty Savage Skyband Safire Marizane Laura Branigan Best Of 2007 John Kalishes Steely Dan Stormkro Iva Twydell Wounded Bird Icon
All Tags
Search DDG