Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Latest Comments
Guys she's on Facebook, I...
Maybe Franne was friends ...
Rudy was co-written by Fe...
Great album and excellent...
H.E.A.T - 2017 Redefined ...
H.E.A.T - 2017 Eye Of The...
Keldian - 2017 Blood Red ...
No, I'm changing my mind ...
Code Red - 2017 Heat Of T...
Yeah, I quite liked this,...
Midnite City - 2017 Summe...
Target - 1979 Taxman [yo...
Cher - 1982 Rudy [youtub...
Cher - 1982 Games [youtu...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Devi...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Head...
Neal Schon - 1989 Softly ...
Getting back into this al...
You must login to post a message.

20-11-2017 22:15
Anyone have a rip of the Daddy Warbucks album on Tiger Lily from 76 please?

19-11-2017 09:44
Burn (UK) will have their new album 'Ice Age' released in Japan via Marquee/Avalon on Nov 22. The album is then released worldwide on Jan 19th 2018 via Melodicrock Records.

19-11-2017 09:40
I was a bit cranky last week, waiting for various things to happen with the website transition. God it's good to be back. Didn't Gary Glitter sing a song like that? dogrun

19-11-2017 07:06
Note to all Members. Please review your Message inboxes. Some of these are getting rather large. Thanks.

19-11-2017 03:05
OK, all the YouTube videos are working again. Just use the YT link, and then encase in tags [ youtube] at the start, [/ youtube] at the end. Cool. Thumbs Up

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2011 Articles » Voodoo Six - 2011 Falling Knives [EP]
Voodoo Six - 2011 Falling Knives [EP]

ARTIST: Voodoo Six
ALBUM: Falling Knives [EP]
LABEL: Voodoo Six
SERIAL: Limited Edition Download Only
YEAR: 2011
SPONSOR: Lauren Archer (Archer Williams Management)


LINEUP: Luke Purdie - vocals * Matt Pearce - guitar * Chris Jones - guitar * Tony Newton - bass * Dave `Grav' Cavill - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Falling Knives * 02 Sharp Sand * 03 Stop * 04 One More Day * 05 Feed My Soul * 06 No Friend Of Mine


WEBLINKS: www.voodoosix.com

Voodoo Six were the London based outfit that first came to our attention back in 2008, with their excellent CD 'First Hit For Free'. The band, formed by bassist Tony Newton and guitarist Richie Faulkner (yes, the very chap who has since replaced KK Downing in the mighty Judas Priest) has been around since 2003. The lineup as it was back in 2008 is pretty much the same, with the exception of Luke Purdie who steps into the shoes of departed singer Henry Rundell. In 2010, the band released their 'Fluke?' CD (Powerage Records) which debuted Purdie on vocals, V6 going out on the road in support of UFO and The Union along with one-off dates alongside Iron Maiden and Cinderella. 2011 has seen the band playing support gigs to Hanoi Rocks frontman Michael Monroe, and it also sees them release a limited edition Download Only six-track EP called 'Falling Knives', which we're looking at today.

The Songs
'Falling Knives' includes three new tracks, plus three reworked versions of songs found on that 'First Hit For Free' CD. The new tracks are: 'Falling Knives', 'Sharp Sand' and 'Stop'. The reworked songs are 'One More Day', 'Feed My Soul' and 'No Friend Of Mine'. V6 are still purveyors of hard rock with a modern and intense twist. You can hear traits from the past too, but I feel this band are moving forward and forging their own identity. Very much a guitar based entity, there's power in the grooves, 'Falling Knives' leading off with dense and sledgehammer like guitarwork, you'll be doing well to avoid blades of steel coming at you from all directions. 'Sharp Sand' is a punchy affair, played in a modern context but with interesting stop/start sections as well. The band just halt right in the middle of the flow, then pick up again as if nothings happened.. lol! To my ears, 'Stop' is the best of new tracks, so laden with attitude and intensity, like heavy traces of thick and gooey treacle. A very 70's flavoured track. Of the revamped songs, the soundmeter seems to have been turned up a few notches, while Purdie's vocals appear to be more 'rough n ready' than those versions sung previously by Rundell.

In Summary
2012 promises to be a busy year for V6, with a new album on the way and more tours lined up. With Purdie as the frontman, the band can look forward to more raucous performances in the near future. Check out the Voodoo Six website where you can purchase this EP, now available upon its November 28 release date.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
Tags: Voodoo Six EP 
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Asia - 1985 Astra, Gonzalez, Jason - 2001 On The Edge Of The Edge, Goble, Graham (Encounter) - 1993 Nautilus, Mindstorm - 1987 Mindstorm, Kestrel - 1975 Kestrel, Saxon - 1979 Saxon, Harnen, Jimmy - 1989 Can't Fight The Midnight, Lotus - 2000 Quartet Conspiracy, Beautiful Beast - 2014 Kick Down The Barricades, Ellis, Kerry - 2010 Anthems, Duke Jupiter - 2001 Interview with Rickey Ellis, Casanova - 1992 One Night Stand, Cooper, Alice - 1987 Raise Your Fist And Yell, Spanos, Danny - 1984 Looks Like Trouble, Alien (USA 70's) - 1979 Sons Of The Universe
Earth Wind And Fire Eva Hegel Jim Photoglo Toxic Shame Pat Travers Band Lake Bernie Marsden Wounded Bird Baton Rouge Ol Paint Queen Illusion Flower Kings Best Of 2011 Actors And Actresses Rick Springfield Treat Detroit Fantacy Hill Bullet (Sweden) Oz Knozz Sweet Crystal Metal Church Chastain Rock Candy Records Jefferson Starship Ghost Machinery Praying Mantis Saxon Aerosmith Molly Hatchet John Illsley Dire Straits Kidd Glove Yesterrock Sabu
All Tags
Search DDG