Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Latest Comments
Black Sabbath - 1989 Devi...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Head...
Neal Schon - 1989 Softly ...
Getting back into this al...
Neal Schon - 1989 The The...
Valentine - 1990 Where Ar...
Burns Sisters - 1989 Answ...
Distance - 1989 Speech Of...
Distance - 1989 Softly Sp...
Well her real name is Fra...
It is weird that her firs...
Franne Golde - 1980 The N...
Masquerade - 1992 Sudden ...
I look to the sky with a ...
Lame arsed Home Counties...
Filth. Utter, Utter, Utter.
Another fine example of a...
For me Salisbury is their...
Can't believe I never com...
I saw Priest live in 2005...
You must login to post a message.

19-11-2017 09:44
Burn (UK) will have their new album 'Ice Age' released in Japan via Marquee/Avalon on Nov 22. The album is then released worldwide on Jan 19th 2018 via Melodicrock Records.

19-11-2017 09:40
I was a bit cranky last week, waiting for various things to happen with the website transition. God it's good to be back. Didn't Gary Glitter sing a song like that? dogrun

19-11-2017 07:06
Note to all Members. Please review your Message inboxes. Some of these are getting rather large. Thanks.

19-11-2017 03:05
OK, all the YouTube videos are working again. Just use the YT link, and then encase in tags [ youtube] at the start, [/ youtube] at the end. Cool. Thumbs Up

12-11-2017 02:39
Starting to crank out some reviews now. Woah!

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2000 Articles » Isaacs, David - 2000 Timebomb
Isaacs, David - 2000 Timebomb

David Isaacs - lead and backing vocals, tambourine
Chris Horvarth - guitars, mellotron, keys
Matt Laug - drums, shakers
Nick Vincent - drums
Ian Mayo - bass
Lance Morrison - bass
Mark Harris - bass
Joey Cathcart - acoustic and slide guitar
John Flannery; baritone guitar
Bruce Watson - slide guitar

With a CV boasting collaborations with such luminaries as Christine McVie of Fleetwood Mac, The Eagles and even Poison, David Isaacs has spent the majority of his career making noteworthy contributions to the music industry whilst standing on the edge of it. Now, after the success of his material on indy website www.garageband.com, the release of his debut solo album 'Timebomb' should see David Isaacs make the transition from the periphery to the centre with relative ease. Why? Because a record and artist as good as this shouldn't linger on the fringes for too long.

The Songs
From the opening bars of the title track to the closing strains of 'Paper Doll', the incredibly seductive melodies had me floored. The material is a blend of polished melodic pop/rock with a distinctly modern feel that becomes even more captivating because of Isaacs' incredible voice. Accented with great organ and drum work, the soulful opener 'Timebomb' sets the standard for the rest of the disc by fusing traditional Tom Petty and Beatles influences into a modern and vital sound. 'Waterfall' follows hot on the heels and is a jaunty slice of jangly, catchy pop with some jaw dropping guitar work to finish off. This was the first fruits of the partnership between David and co-producer Chris Horvarth and left me reaching for the repeat button.. repeatedly. But then that's a common problem with 'Timebomb'- Highlight follows highlight with unbelievable ease. The pure pop poignancy of 'Watching From The Moon', with its lush orchestral and keyboard touches, and the sweeping brilliance of 'All We Are' initially jostled for position as best song, until I heard the truly stunning 'Come Back Home'. Then attentions turn to the catchy strains of 'I'll Be Waiting here For You' and the equally memorable upbeat pop of 'Goodbye To You'. By now, the phrase 'kid in a candy store' comes to mind. David has assembled a great bunch of players on 'Timebomb', including Matt Laug and Nick Vincent on drums, and, interestingly enough, ex Nelson band member Joey Cathcart contributes guitar and a co-write. Indeed, this disc is probably one of the most fluidly melodic and strong-in-every-department records I have had the pleasure of hearing since Nelson's 1999 classic 'Life'. But still there's more. The crisp, clear production of Horvarth and studio skills of Talley Sherwood are showcased on 'When It Rains' along with some great shimmery guitar which characterises many of the songs on display. David's voice, so impressive almost everywhere, really shines on the breezy, rocking pair of 'Marigold' and 'Just A Little More Time' while closer 'Paper Doll' leaves you feeling pleasantly stuffed full of melody, great arrangements and performances by the album's end.

In Summary
Clever, expertly crafted and perfectly executed pop-rock like this doesn't come along very often and when it does, it's best not to get in involved in discussions about how singer songwriters are sometimes difficult to categorise. With 'Timebomb', there's no need to worry about such difficulties. Just mark it 'essential' and leave the rest to a perfect union between your ears and your CD player. With any luck, and if people truly get what they deserve, 'Timebomb' will spectacularly explode and give David Isaacs, rather than those he has worked with in the past, all the attention and acclaim.

URL: www.davidisaacs.net

Track Listing:
01 Timebomb
02 Waterfall
03 Watching From The Moon
04 Come Back Home
05 All We Are
06 I'll Be Waiting Here for You
07 Marigold
08 When It Rains
09 Goodbye To You
10 Just A Little More Time
11 Haunting Me
12 Little Angel
13 Paper Doll

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
Tags: David Isaacs 
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Black Rose (Sweden) - 1999 Night And Day [Promo], Granmax - 1978 Kiss Heaven Goodbye, Electric Light Orchestra Part II - 1990 E.L.O, Minds Eye - 2006 Interview with Daniel Flores, Dees, Stephen - 1977 Hip Shot, Brock, Terry - 2010 Diamond Blue, Diesel (Holland) - 1979 Watts In A Tank, Jenson Interceptor - 1980 Jenson Interceptor, Point Blank - 1979 Airplay, Accept - 1985 Kaizoku-Ban (Live, Mini LP), Nasty Savage - 1985 Nasty Savage, AC/DC - 1995 Ballbreaker, Rose Tattoo - 2007 Blood Brothers, Bentwood Rocker - 1982 Take Me To Heaven, Loverboy - 2007 Just Getting Started
Adrian Zmed Actors And Actresses Mass Pearl Handle Band Steven Wilson Supertramp Kings And Dreams Bruce Gaitsch Dan Seals Accept Buckcherry Stan Meissner Minds Eye Rose (Canada) John Norum Kjetil By Russell DaShiell Yesterrock Tokyo (Germany) Ten Gary Moore Ken Hensley Tour De Force (USA) Kansas Rock Candy Records Chicago (Band) Led Zeppelin Bronz Touris Dillman Brothers Lodi Edguy Snow EP
All Tags
Search DDG