Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Latest Comments
Guys she's on Facebook, I...
Maybe Franne was friends ...
Rudy was co-written by Fe...
Great album and excellent...
H.E.A.T - 2017 Redefined ...
H.E.A.T - 2017 Eye Of The...
Keldian - 2017 Blood Red ...
No, I'm changing my mind ...
Code Red - 2017 Heat Of T...
Yeah, I quite liked this,...
Midnite City - 2017 Summe...
Target - 1979 Taxman [yo...
Cher - 1982 Rudy [youtub...
Cher - 1982 Games [youtu...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Devi...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Head...
Neal Schon - 1989 Softly ...
Getting back into this al...
You must login to post a message.

21-11-2017 20:31
Not me but I'll have a hunt for it.

20-11-2017 22:15
Anyone have a rip of the Daddy Warbucks album on Tiger Lily from 76 please?

19-11-2017 09:44
Burn (UK) will have their new album 'Ice Age' released in Japan via Marquee/Avalon on Nov 22. The album is then released worldwide on Jan 19th 2018 via Melodicrock Records.

19-11-2017 09:40
I was a bit cranky last week, waiting for various things to happen with the website transition. God it's good to be back. Didn't Gary Glitter sing a song like that? dogrun

19-11-2017 07:06
Note to all Members. Please review your Message inboxes. Some of these are getting rather large. Thanks.

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2010 Articles » Mass - 2010 Sea Of Black
Mass - 2010 Sea Of Black

ALBUM: Sea Of Black
LABEL: Escape Music
YEAR: 2010


LINEUP: Louis D'Augusta - lead vocals, Gene D'Itria - guitars, backing vocals * Michael Palumbo - bass, backing vocals * Joey 'Vee' Vadala - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Falling From Grace * 02 All The Years Gone * 03 The Right Side * 04 Coming Home * 05 Thru The Rain * 06 All That I Needed * 07 More Than A Friend * 08 Justify * 09 Ashes To Ashes * 10 Till We Meet Again * 11 Captain jack (instr) * 12 Sea Of Black


WEBLINKS: www.massrocks.com

These Massachusetts home boys seem to have been around forever. Despite the name, imagery, lyrics and professional association with Stryper and Michael Sweet, I think we can discount the religious connatation that has dogged this lot since the 80's. I'm guessing that 'Mass' actually stands for Massachusetts! lol! Having made a 21st century comeback after a long tenure during the 80's which resulted in numerous releases and a deal with Enigma Records, Mass are now doing their own thing, and have been with UK label Escape Music since 2007, and their debut for that label: 'Crack Of Dawn'. They've recently landed their second effort for the label called 'Sea Of Black', and it's 80's hair metal with all the best bits coming to the surface. Produced by Martin Kronlund, Escape Music's nominated in-house producer, this is a cracking piece of hard rock!

The Songs
It's on the heavier tracks that Mass truly stand out. They rip straight into it with 'Falling From Grace', a track etched from the diamond hard face of John Sykes and Blue Murder. It's fast paced, and features some hot shredding from guitar ace Gene D'Itria. A great scene setter! Louis D'Augusta soars over the top on 'The Right Side', in fact, they sound a bit like Texans Stride on this one, heavy, prog-metal sounding even. 'Justify' is a five minute slamming session, while 'All That I Needed', 'Ashes To Ashes' and the title track 'Sea Of Black' pull no punches either. The boys dabble in some acoustics on 'All The Years Again', a cowboy melodic rocker akin to Ron Keel's former band Ironhorse, or perhaps Tattoo Rodeo, and they get very close to AOR territory with the shimmering harmonies of 'Till We Meet Again'.

In Summary
There are a lot of good moments here, and it's one of Escape Music's better releases for 2010. If you've seen this band on any number of websites but haven't become acquainted with them, do so now. Check this fine album out! Hmm, I think a history lesson on Mass is now required.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
Tags: Mass 
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Nielsen Pearson Band - 1978 Nielsen Pearson Band, Thomson, Ali - 1980 Take A Little Rhythm, Faithful Breath - 1985 SKOL, Park, Jan (Band) - 1979 Jan Park Band, Los Angeles - 2009 Neverland, Christy, Lauren - 1993 Lauren Christy, Horizon (France) - 2004 Worlds Apart, Chameleon - 1981 Chameleon, Grand Illusion - 2010 Brand New World, Byrd - 2002 Anthem, Deep Purple - 2017 Infinite, Dream Evil - 2004 The Book Of Heavy Metal, Rosenfeld, Avi - 2017 Very Heepy, Very Purple VI, Mystic Healer - 1998 Mystic Healer, Heroes - 1980 Border Raiders
Arena Asia (USA) Nitro Michael Batio Jim Gilette Richard Marx Rickie Lee Jones M.ILL.ION Asia Atlantis Airport Blind Fish Elektradrive Twisted Sister Dogwood Robby Valentine Robby Valentine Mychael Yellow Dog Spartan Warrior Lazarus Omega Judas Priest Saxon Supreme Majesty N.O.W Von Hertzen Brothers Fumble Chris De Burgh Crimson Rain Myland Spread Eagle The Clash
All Tags
Search DDG