Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Latest Comments
Black Sabbath - 1989 Devi...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Head...
Neal Schon - 1989 Softly ...
Getting back into this al...
Neal Schon - 1989 The The...
Valentine - 1990 Where Ar...
Burns Sisters - 1989 Answ...
Distance - 1989 Speech Of...
Distance - 1989 Softly Sp...
Well her real name is Fra...
It is weird that her firs...
Franne Golde - 1980 The N...
Masquerade - 1992 Sudden ...
I look to the sky with a ...
Lame arsed Home Counties...
Filth. Utter, Utter, Utter.
Another fine example of a...
For me Salisbury is their...
Can't believe I never com...
I saw Priest live in 2005...
You must login to post a message.

19-11-2017 09:44
Burn (UK) will have their new album 'Ice Age' released in Japan via Marquee/Avalon on Nov 22. The album is then released worldwide on Jan 19th 2018 via Melodicrock Records.

19-11-2017 09:40
I was a bit cranky last week, waiting for various things to happen with the website transition. God it's good to be back. Didn't Gary Glitter sing a song like that? dogrun

19-11-2017 07:06
Note to all Members. Please review your Message inboxes. Some of these are getting rather large. Thanks.

19-11-2017 03:05
OK, all the YouTube videos are working again. Just use the YT link, and then encase in tags [ youtube] at the start, [/ youtube] at the end. Cool. Thumbs Up

12-11-2017 02:39
Starting to crank out some reviews now. Woah!

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2009 Articles » Lynn Allen - 2009 Nine
Lynn Allen - 2009 Nine

ARTIST: Lynn Allen
LABEL: 543 Records
YEAR: 2009


LINEUP: Billy Peiffer - vocals, guitars * Johnny Williamson - bass, backing vocals * Mark De Kalb - drums

Guests: Tim Compton, Scott Whitehall, Terry Murphy, Brian Minor - guitars

TRACK LISTING: 01 Change The World * 02 I Don't Want To * 03 Quicksand * 04 The Walk Of Shame * 05 What She Don't Know * 06 Whisper To A Scream * 07 This Time (It's Gonna Be The Same) * 08 A Different Woman * 09 Romeo * 10 When We're Alone


WEBLINKS: www.lynnallen.com

Billy Peiffer and his band Lynn Allen have long been favourites among the select AOR audience for many years. We can navigate back in time to albums such as 'Panorama Park' and 'Laugh At You', plus of course the intense media coverage the boys from Iowa received thanks to the likes of Kelv Hellrazer and magazines such as Metal Forces and the various fanzines during the late 80's and early 90's. It was only two years ago that we talked to Billy about the 2007 album 'The Horse You Rode In On', which was initially released privately, then subsequently picked up by Escape Music. And now at the tail end of 2009, Lynn Allen return with another worthy contender, simply titled 'Nine', which of course means that this is the bands ninth release.

The Songs
Damn, some of these songs are damned catchy! I'm kinda thinking there's a hint of Danger Danger here, plus some quirky Cheap Trick as well, very singable songs nonetheless, and as Billy advised, loads of melodies. It's pop rock with a sharp edge. Most of the readership should immediately find favour with the lead off 'Change The World', with its busy guitarwork and hard driving backbeat. For three guys, they certainly have a full sound. The tempo may have slowed for 'I Don't Want To' but the song is passionate and intense for the most part, the chorus a definite swig at Danger Danger's recipe. Quirky pop rock is the idea behind 'Quicksand', touching the style and sound from some of those early 80's power pop/rock exponents. The trio deliver a couple of punchy mid-tempo rockers with 'The Walk Of Shame' and 'What She Don't Know', and while 'Whisper To A Scream' follows similarly, it's a more engaging listen. The pace picks up for the fun time rocker 'This Time', a tune which would sound quite at home on some fratboy movie soundtrack. 'A Different Woman' is the sole ballad here, the acoustic guitar sent through a flanger pedal for effect, an ok tune but I'm looking for more energy, and 'Romeo' delivers, with some nice guitar riffs filling out the song. 'When We're Alone' finishes the album in the same fashion as many of the songs that have gone before, simplistic in structure, and trademark Lynn Allen to a tee.

In Summary
I actually enjoyed this quite a bit. The style was mostly similar, not too different in structure apart from the ballad 'A Different Woman'. Good to see some of the former members of the band contributing to the album. Tim Compton and Terry Murphy haven't been involved for years, and there is a rumour going around that the original version of Lynn Allen may get together for a reunion in 2010. That more or less sounds like an air ticket needs to purchased by one Kelv Hellrazer to get over and witness the event!

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
Tags: Lynn Allen 
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Cua, Rick - 1992 The Way Love Is, Frontline (USA) - 2009 Frontology: 1983-1993, House Of Shakira - 2004 First Class, Edoff, Martina - 2015 Unity, Petra - 1990 Beyond Belief, Flyer - 2007 Interview with Lou Rera, Z Plan - 1998 Circus, Manito Park - 1991 Manito Park, Styx - 1977 The Grand Illusion, Lost In Thought - 2011 Opus Arise, Tremeloes, The - 1974 Shiner, Spanos, Danny - 1980 Danny Spanos, T.T Quick - 1984 T.T Quick (Mini LP), Sundholm, Roy - 1979 The Chinese Method, Flower Kings, The - 2002 Unfold The Future
Eddie And The Tide Rushing Wind Tomorrows Child Bad Sister David Roberts Elvis Costello Wolfpakk Loverboy Rik Emmett Michael Shotton Airtime Strikemaster Toto Rock Candy Records Coldspell Sunstorm Crazy Lixx Riot Von Hertzen Brothers John Lawton Xinema Gary Moore Beau Nasty Various Artists Barclay James Harvest Jack James Casanova (Germany) Band Of Skulls Frontline Requiem (Slovenia) Aviary Rob Rock Rockicks
All Tags
Search DDG