Theme Switcher
Switch to:


Join us over at the Facebook replacement Join up and become part of 2018's great migration off of Facebook.


Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6679
Comments: 16714
Ratings: 4967
Forum Posts: 22735
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2009 Articles » Street Legal - 2009 Bite The Bullet
Street Legal - 2009 Bite The Bullet

ARTIST: Street Legal
ALBUM: Bite The Bullet
LABEL: Frontiers
YEAR: 2009


LINEUP: Bjorn Boge - vocals, bass * Oysten Boge - drums * Tore Osby - guitars * Rolf Bjorseth - guitars

TRACK LISTING: 01 Loading Up * 02 Somebody Up There Likes Me * 03 Unconditional Love * 04 Warriors Of Genghis Khan * 05 Shadow In My Heart * 06 Bite The Bullet * 07 Starship Trooper * 08 Trapped * 09 The Battle Of Kringen * 10 Maniac * 11 Silent Tear



Street Legal first came across our desk back in 2000, with their debut album 'Thunderdome'. Much promise was to be had with Street Legal, but like a lot of things, the band didn't take its opportunities. Of course, the main sticking point with this band is the Davinci connection - courtesy of bass player and lead singer Bjorn Boge. But that's where the comparison ends, as Street Legal are considerably heavier than those Norwegian poodles, taking a Blue Murder, John Sykes direction. Soundwise, they are on a par with their previous effort, but not as heavy as some of the bands that Bjorn Boge works with at his day job as a producer - which border on extreme metal. Thankfully none of that here, Frontiers does the right thing and dusts off the covers for this second Street Legal CD - 'Bite The Bullet'.

The Songs
Joining Bjorn and the band this time around are brother Oysten Boge on drums, with dual guitar roles falling to Tore Osby (previously with Ark and Conception) and Rolf Bjorseth. I mentioned in our previous review for 'Thunderdome' about the bluesy swagger found on that album. Not so obvious on this one, but the Blue Murder/Thin Lizzy vibe is still apparent. Check out the opener 'Loading Up' for proof, or if you still need to be convinced, 'Unconditional Love' is a must listen.. Bjorn doing the Phil Lynott with aplomb. Things get heavy for 'Warriors Of Genghis Khan', which could be John Sykes with different clothes on. The standard sweeping epic ballad arises in the form of 'Shadow In My Heart', again, early Lizzy makes a good comparison. The title track is a solid rollicking work out, but things sound much better on the heavier 'Starship Trooper'. Hard to tell if this is based on the movie, I guess they took their inspiration from something.. 'Trapped' has a slight Gary Moore style and tone, though not overly copy-cat, 'The Battle Of Kringen' is a big sounding instrumental with more Lizzy/Sykes overtones. The most interesting track here is the Michael Sembello cover of 'Maniac', a track that was covered by Firewind last year. It's pretty full-on, and nothing like the original.. thank goodness, but unfortunately not as good as the Firewind version either.. The album closer is the six minute epic power ballad 'Silent Tear', a good way to finish up.

In Summary
Despite the nine year gap, Street Legal still have a lot to offer, it's good to see them back, and hopefully the Frontiers team will be on Bjorn's case to release more regular material. I like the Thin Lizzy vibe, but would've loved for Osby to really let loose on the guitars and heavy things up even more! We know what he is capable of with Ark and also his work with Jorn Lande, so Bjorn, just give some free reign. I'm looking forward to album three, hopefully without the Boston like nine year wait!

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Asia (USA) - 1978 Asia, Muse - 1999 Showbiz, Nightblade - 2013 Closer To The Threshold, Player - 1978 Danger Zone, Pink Floyd - 1975 Wish You Were Here, Zed - 1981 Zed, Lakehurst (Germany) - 2000 Miracles, Great Kat, The - 2002 Wagners War, Over The Edge - 2004 Over The Edge, Black Rose (UK) - 1987 Walk It Like You Talk It, Megadeth - 1997 Cryptic Writings, Fair Warning (USA) - 1981 Fair Warning, Shining Line - 2010 Shining Line, Best Of 2014 - 2015 George (gdazegod), Axxis - 2017 Retrolution
Barclay James Harvest Daughtry Return David Lee Roth Bruzer Ignition Pride Of Lions ABBA Wounded Bird Greenslade Le Mans Treat Arroyo The Fixx Mars Electric Crawler Wounded Bird Ronnie Milsap Starz Pinnacle Point Lionheart Scrounger Kiss Vinnie Moore Europe (Band) Sanne Jeff Scott Soto Kuni Waltham EP Atlas (UK) EP Tangier Nathan Shaffer Roq Royale Accept
All Tags