Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16620
Ratings: 4879
Forum Posts: 22005
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2009 Articles » Halestorm - 2009 Halestorm
Halestorm - 2009 Halestorm

ARTIST: Halestorm
ALBUM: Halestorm
LABEL: Atlantic
SERIAL: 518222
YEAR: 2009


LINEUP: Lizzy Hale - vocals, guitars * Joe Hottinger - guitars * Josh Smith - bass * Arejay Hale - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 It's Not You * 02 I Get Off * 03 Bet U Wish U Had Me Back * 04 Innocence * 05 Familiar Taste Of Poison * 06 I'm Not An Angel * 07 What Were You Expecting * 08 Love Hate Heartbreak * 09 Better Safe Than Sorry * 10 Dirty Work * 11 Nothing To Do With Love



Halestorm are a recent discovery for me from MySpace. Aah.. god bless those people from the worlds biggest social networking experiment for delivering us goodies such as Halestorm! Funny thing is, though they are a recent discovery, this lot have been around for ten years or more. What universe have I been in? So what do bands like Benedictum, Hydrogyn, Infernophonic and Evanescence have in common? Well they all have powerhouse females on lead vocals. You can now add the impressive Lizzy Hale to the list. Seems Atlantic Records are quite fond of this Pennsylvania quartet too, and though the band had signed a contract with the major label back in 2005, it's only now some four years later that we are seeing and hearing their first full length album, after releasing a live EP 'One And Done'.

The Songs
The album is due to hit the shelves at the end of April 2009, and no doubt you'll be getting a fair whiff of their lead-off single 'I Get Off', which has been resident on the GDAZE MySpace Player for a few weeks now. It's a good choice too, and I reckon it will appeal to the pimple faced teenage brigade of 2009 as they enjoy their spring break! Not that Halestorm is brazenly pop. Not at all.. There are many modern hard rockers onboard, from the guitar strut and strong choruses found on 'It's Not You', the melodic bruise of 'Innocence', the tortured guitar play on 'What Were You Expecting' plus the mix-a-minute pop/rock of 'Dirty Work'. Lizzy sounds great on ballads too, check out the double tracked vocals on 'Familiar Taste Of Poison', though the string arrangement was a put-off. Even better was the slow build of 'I'm Not An Angel', with its acoustic/electric mixture working a treat.

In Summary
Overall there's a good selection of tunes, but it's the delivery of Lizzy Hale which will carry this band onto bigger and better things. Many hardened punters might dismiss Halestorm as a bit lightweight in the overall scheme of things, and they're probably right. But any band carrying a melodic hard rock edge into the territory of radio must be doing something right. It will be interesting to see how Clear Channel handles the radio programming for Halestorm. They'll either embrace them or ignore them altogether. Halestorm are no 'live' debutants either. They've been out on the road with some heavyweights.. South Africans Seether, Flyleaf, Shinedown and Trapt, so it will be interesting to see who they pair up during the summer of 2009. Check 'em out, a cool little album!

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 100% [1 Vote]
85% 85% 0% [No Votes]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Search DDG