Theme Switcher
Switch to:


Join us over at the Facebook replacement Join up and become part of 2018's great migration off of Facebook.


Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6679
Comments: 16714
Ratings: 4967
Forum Posts: 22735
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 1987 Articles » Cars, The - 1987 Door To Door
Cars, The - 1987 Door To Door

ARTIST: Cars, The
ALBUM: Door To Door
LABEL: Elektra
SERIAL: E2-60747
YEAR: 1987


LINEUP: Ric Ocasek - lead vocals, rhythm guitar * Benjamin Orr - lead vocals, bass * Elliot Easton - lead guitar, vocals * Greg Hawkes - keyboards, vocals * David Robinson - drums, vocals

TRACK LISTING: 01 Leave Or Stay * 02 You Are The Girl * 03 Double Trouble * 04 Fine Line * 05 Everything You Say * 06 Ta Ta Wayo Wayo * 07 Strap Me In * 08 Coming Up You * 09 Wound Up On You * 10 Go Away * 11 Door To Door

The 80's musical decade would be hard pressed to ignore the impact in which Boston based band The Cars played a part. During the early 80's, the band racked up numerous hits, sourced from their 'Shake It Up' and 'Heartbeat City' albums. Beyond 1985 the band members put their energies into other projects, both Benjamin Orr and Ric Ocasek would release solo albums, and it wasn't until 1987 that The Cars turned up in the driveway with another album.. 'Door To Door'. Unfortunately, while the band were in hiatus, several things had changed. The market had moved on, their audience had gotten older, and there didn't seem to be the same applied focus to creating sharp edgy commercial pop rock as we had seen on those earlier albums.

The Songs
'Door To Door' did feature one very well known hit for the band.. 'You Are The Girl', which did reach a very creditable #17 on the Billboard Top 40. But apart from that, the album seems to be more about connecting the dots and 'play by numbers' rather than providing anything substantial. However in saying that, I quite like a number of these songs. 'Fine Line' is a very swevlt song that reminds me of Robbie Robertson's material from the same timeframe (think 'Somewhere By The Lazy River'). 'Everything You Say' is an upbeat tap tap tune which has a rockabilly edge.. don't let my description put you off, it's not that bad! Both 'Strap Me In' and 'Wound Up On You' have a touch of AOR similarly heard on Orr's solo lp 'The Lace' the year previous, whereas 'Leave Or Stay' and 'Ta Ta Wayo' reflect more accurately - the band's legacy sound from earlier albums. The most unusual track is the closing title track 'Door To Door', which features an up-tempo drum beat and hardened riffs.. err weird!

In Summary
'Door To Door' was possibly the band's lowest selling album, although it wasn't a bad effort by their lofty standards, but the creative fire was on the verge of being extinguished. By February the following year, The Cars were no more. Many years later, Ocasek and Todd Rundgren would resurrect the band, but to keep a degree of separation, the band would instead be called The New Cars. The reunion was shortlived through the timeline of 2006, with lacklustre sales and lower than expected returns at concert venues. The band was again put on ice until their formal reunion in 2011.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

#1 | retroaddict on October 22 2010 17:03:25
So much for the band being put on ice! Some of you may have heard about a mysterious Facebook photo that surfaced during this early summer of the four surviving Cars members playing in a recording studio. Today on, it has been revealed that they have recorded their first new album in 23 years and are 'strongly considering touring.' 2011 is shaping up to be arguably the strongest year for taking the 40 somethings back to their youth!
#2 | gdazegod on June 06 2011 05:44:51
'Move Like This' is the result, review of that album now online, refer the link above.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 0% [No Votes]
85% 85% 0% [No Votes]
80% 80% 100% [1 Vote]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Articles Cloud
Maglev - 2016 Overwrite The Sin, Vicious Rumors - 2016 Concussion Protocol, Ratt - 1985 Invasion Of Your Privacy, Saxon - 1979 Saxon, Aaron, Lee - 1989 Bodyrock, Simple Minds - 1982 New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84), Toto - 1978 Toto, Krokus - 1976 Krokus, T.T Quick - 1984 T.T Quick (Mini LP), Anthrax - 1993 Sound Of White Noise, Hellfueled - 2005 Born II Rock, Hobbit - 2003 Interview Part 3, Black Sabbath - 1981 Mob Rules, Haywire - 1986 Bad Boys, Event - 2003 Scratching At The Surface
The Tirith Ironhorse (USA) Blind Date Dragon Fly Thieves And Liars Billy Greer Streets Rock Candy Records Wounded Bird Steve Walsh Mike Slamer Pink Cream 69 Valor Santana Eric Carmen Pantera United Fools David Palmer Boulevard Yesterrock Pavlovs Dog Live Albums Threshold EP OSI Dudek Finnigan Krueger Band Les Dudek Wounded Bird Jon Butcher Axis Seven Skys Takara Snake Eyes Seven Shari Ulrich Only Child Urban Tale Soundtrack Various Artists Lovecraft Montreal Benedictum Arrows (UK) Alan Merrill
All Tags