Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16579
Ratings: 4791
Forum Posts: 21868
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2006 Articles » FX - 2006 FX
FX - 2006 FX

Michael Harrison - guitars
John Mc Cubbery - keyboards
Wayne Jones - bass
Peter Ottewell - cocals

Some of you may remember these hi-tech Aussies only album 'Personal' which was released in 1986. Originally I planned on reviewing that album until a little research turned up this CD released on the Alamacantar label who placed their focus on obscure 80's Australian pop. Compiled from their aborted second album, FX didn't have an easy go of it. A couple of singles were released and an Australian tour with Mr. Mister followed but apparently their manager was more interested in John Farnham's career than anything FX had to offer and the group broke up following the recordings found on this disc. Oh by the way, that manager who was also behind Little River Band's world wide success Glenn Wheatley, was sentenced in Australian courts for tax evasion a couple years ago.

The Songs
Not much had changed in the FX sound when this was recorded and clocking in at just less than twenty three minutes; this really isn't a case of quality over quantity. 'Cruising In My Car' is the best of the lot, catchy with plenty of single potential, FX are comparable to INXS although the song writing isn't quite up to that level. In fact this disc blows by without any real standout other than the opener. It's all very well played and tunes like 'Nervous' and the ballad 'You're Breaking My Heart' show a lot of potential while lacking that extra something special to take them over the top which can also be said for their debut.

In Summary
Another sticking point is the packaging which is bare bones to say the least with a one panel card with a photo of the band on the back. As an archive release more information is a necessity. At least provide where and when it was recorded, producer, even a 'fuck you'.. at least something for god sakes. With that said, I'm sure hi-techies will want this and while it is an important piece of the Australian AOR puzzle, I was hoping for a little more satisfaction.

Track Listing:
01 Cruising In My Car
02 A Girl Like You
03 Nervous
04 I Wanna Dance With You
05 Lost With Love
06 You're Breaking My Heart

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Search DDG