Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6825
Comments: 16465
Ratings: 4520
Forum Posts: 21582
Latest Comments
Same here, forgotten abou...
Both albums are really go...
Great band had forgotten ...
This debut is chocked ful...
The band really broadens ...
I've seen this many times...
A classic indeed and thei...
I hoped more from this al...
It was Heather Thomas in ...
Actually, 'Find The Lady'...
Cheers Dave, looking to g...
Great, Malcolm! I can hel...
Dave, it's already set up...
Great list, Jeffrey. The ...
Maybe an interview with G...
Finally got a copy of thi...
Thanks for the download y...
Yes Dave, I agree New Yor...
Very cool. I've always ha...
As a musician and avid li...
You must login to post a message.

22-01-2018 21:32
Wonderful recent interview with Gary Numan.

21-01-2018 21:04
Lucky and now skint, judging by the winning bid!!

21-01-2018 20:47
Some lucky Jeff Lynne fan got a real rarity!

21-01-2018 09:43
Yep in Argent, especially as Rod Argent and Jim we’re cousins.

21-01-2018 07:43
Didn't Rodford also play in Argent and Charlie too?

20-01-2018 22:04
Jim Rodford, bass player, The Kinks, Phoenix (I think?), but I remember him with The Zombies, saw live a while back. RIP

17-01-2018 21:50
In response to Cyrille Regis, BBC 2 repeat the Adrian Chiles documentary, Whites v Blacks, How Football Changed A Nation, unbelievable true story, worth watching

17-01-2018 18:44
Review of the rather splendid `Hornal` album is in the works too.

17-01-2018 01:57
Dave and Jeff's best of 2017 wrap-up's just around the corner too.. computer work

17-01-2018 01:56
There is a three-part article coming up for E.L.O (Eldorado, A New World Record and Out Of The Blue). Look out for it soon.

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2008 Articles » Son Of Eric - 2008 Epiphany
Son Of Eric - 2008 Epiphany

ARTIST: Son Of Eric
ALBUM: Epiphany
LABEL: Sugar Shack Records
SERIAL: 40145-2
YEAR: 2008
SPONSOR: Bryan Erickson


LINEUP: Bryan Erickson - vocals, guitars, keyboards, bass * Greg Morrow - drums * Todd Duane, Mike Torok, Matt Raunke, John Lyell - guitar solos

TRACK LISTING: 01 The Truth * 02 High Plains Drifter * 03 Black Rain Falls * 04 Born * 05 Fierce * 06 Blind Man * 07 Good Bad Ugly * 08 Lost And Never Found * 09 Gone



Here's a new one for me. Being unfamiliar with the music of Bryan Erickson, I can report that he has appeared with the band Torok for several years, whilst retaining a side project called Son Of Eric, whom we are reviewing here. From the Twin Cities of Minnesota, Bryan has had Son Of Eric on a leash for as long as Torok have been around, but the ideas for Son Of Eric are entirely Bryan's. Torok have been in business since 1995 with varying line-ups, and have released several albums along the way. Of late though, the band have gone into hiatus, which means that Bryan has shifted his focus to Son Of Eric. Though SOE has been around for a while, 'Epiphany' is the first full-length album, and was produced/released by small Minneapolis label Sugar Shack Records, with wider distribution handled by Lance King's Nightmare Records. Bryan plays most of the instruments and handles all the vocals, with session drummer Greg Morrow bought on to handle the back-end.

The Songs
Through the nine songs, guitar solo spots are handled by a variety of local axe wizards. Bryan's vocal style hovers in that Graham Bonnet range, while the music is harder and darker than much of the Torok back-catalog. Though the band bio mentions Whitesnake, Iron Maiden, Badlands and Alter Bridge, you'll find the Son Of Eric sound to be slightly heavier than any of those outfits. Mostly, I hear a crunching style of HM, that touches on a groove-laden musical vein, the type that Badlands discovered through their discography, and a whole heap of US bands discovered between the late 90's and the current day. When you hear the opening duo of 'The Truth' and 'High Plains Drifter', SOE have tapped into a heavy coarse sounding groove that typify their approach. The next few tracks are slow to mid-pace grinders. A track like 'Black Rain Falls' is as dark as the title would suggest, whereas 'Born' and 'Fierce' are never going to set the metronome fluttering, though the attitude is tough. 'Blind Man' continues the slow burn, though it contains a chorus that is very anthem-friendly. Bucket drums introduce 'Good Bad Ugly' and the blues influenced riffing admittedly has been heard many times before. 'Lost And Never Found' is a bit more aggressive, unlike the final track 'Gone' which features all acoustic guitar with some keyboard backing, Erickson's vocals are tougher than one would expect with a subdued effort like this.

In Summary
Musically, this is an album for old school heavy rockers, though the attitude is very much in the here and now. I didn't find a lot of contrast here, much of it similar sounding and not offering a lot of variety, despite the lead guitar change-ups. Bryan is in the process of putting a live band for Son Of Eric together. It will comprise Bryan on vocals, guitars; Mike Jezmer on bass (who is also this albums co-producer) and brother Mark Jezmer on drums, and they expect to be out doing shows early in the 2009 new year. Those of you into this style of metal should check Bryan and SOE out, if they touring cloe to you.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
C.C.C.P - 1986 Let's Spend The Night Together, Threshold - 2002 Critical Mass, Saga - 1993 The Security Of Illusion, UFO - 1982 Mechanix, Melodine - 2003 Out Of Your Hands, Eyes - 1993 Windows Of The Soul, Crosby Stills And Nash - 1977 CSN, Headpins - 1982 Turn It Loud, Blind Owl - 1988 Debut At Dusk, Warrant - 1989 Dirty Rotten Filthy Stinking Rich, Black Rose (Sweden) - 1999 Night And Day [Promo], Denson, Al - 1989 Al Denson, Best Of 2013 - 2014 Jeff H Best Of 2013, Various Artists - 2003 Tribute To Uli Jon Roth, Victory - 2011 Don't Talk Science
Biloxi David Gilmour Opus Sweden Civil War Astral Doors Oliver Hartmann Lionheart (UK) Ignition Shark Island Brian Howe Doc Holliday Nelson Off The Edge 8 Is Blue Rain Crashing Angels Takara Mary-Lu Zahalan Lyrix Roma Vermishus Michael Bolton John Wetton Bad Company Wounded Bird Deep Purple Jillson Ines In Vitro Night Ranger Beagle Hat Perfect World
All Tags
Search DDG