Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16620
Ratings: 4879
Forum Posts: 22005
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2008 Articles » Ross The Boss - 2008 New Metal Leader
Ross The Boss - 2008 New Metal Leader

ARTIST: Ross The Boss
ALBUM: New Metal Leader
LABEL: AFM Records
YEAR: 2008


LINEUP: Ross 'The Boss' Friedman - guitars * Patrick Fuchs - vocals * Carsten Ketterling - bass * Matthias Mayer - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 I.L.H * 02 Blood Of Knives * 03 I Got The Right * 04 Death And Glory * 05 Plague Of Lies * 06 God Of Dying * 07 May The Gods Be With You * 08 Constantines Sword * 09 We Will Kill * 10 Matador * 11 Immortal Son



Since departing Manowar way back in 1988, Ross 'The Boss' Friedman has cast his net far and wide in terms of musical output. Reunion gigs with The Dictators, Shakin' Street and associations with other 'project' or 'short-term' bands have used up much of his spare time. Twenty years later, Friedman is still busy, and still has the same musical metal attitude as he did back in Manowar's heyday. Despite Manowar fans demanding that he return to their fold - in a bid to resurrect their 1982-1988 success, Ross has instead put his own band together, comprised of German musicians from the band Ivory Night, and signed to German label AFM. Ross and the band members toured to road-test the material, the tracks now cemented on this latest album 'New Metal Leader'.

The Songs
There's a lot to like about this album, if you are a fan of those early Manowar albums. More 'Into Glory Ride' than 'Battle Hymns', this new set is not so much a dedication to RTB's previous outfit, but more an expression of ideas away from his recent work with punk rockers The Dictators and semi-punk/blues rockers Shakin' Street. After the brief intro of 'I.F.H', RTB settle into a hellhound of a track called 'Blood Of Knives' - which is also the bands first video off the album. With tracks like 'I Got The Right' and 'Death And Glory', the songtitles might be Manowar all the way - but the music is somewhere else, the latter in particular a nod to Firewind. If you need a hint of 80's metal take a listen to those fantastic riffs on 'Plague Of Lies'. Talk about winding back the clock! Aah great stuff! 'God Of Dying' features a long mournful intro piece (if you could call 2 minutes an intro.. lol!) before settling into some anthemic metal that'll have new found fans flailing their fists in the air. 'May The Gods Be With You' sounds like Ross and the boys found a party like groove during their recording sessions - as this one is not as serious as the other tracks. Take a dab of KISS and AC/DC - and this is what you get. Back to slammers palace is 'Constantine's Sword', plus the galloping riff metal of 'We Will Kill'. A track for the Spanish fans is 'Matador', in all its gory detail. The album finishes on the half speed tempo of 'Immortal Son'.. Fuchs' vocal wail of 'rise.. rise..' giving us an impression that this song is all about Frankenstein. It probably isn't.. but then again..

In Summary
The vocals of Patrick Fuchs might take a bit of getting used to, but one thing he does well is hit those high notes. This is a good start for Ross The Boss, though I am guessing the music and lineup may go through a period of refinement as it progresses into the future. There are a bunch of superb songs onboard, but a couple of standard metal tracks as well - when compared to the other bands within the same genre.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Search DDG