Theme Switcher
Switch to:


Join us over at the Facebook replacement Join up and become part of 2018's great migration off of Facebook.


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6924
Comments: 16855
Ratings: 5042
Forum Posts: 22613
Search DDG
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 1989 Articles » Marshall Law - 1989 Marshall Law
Marshall Law - 1989 Marshall Law

ARTIST: Marshall Law
ALBUM: Marshall Law
LABEL: Heavy Metal
YEAR: 1989


LINEUP: Andy Pyke - vocals * Dave Martin - guitars * Andy Southwell - guitars * Malcom Gould - bass * Mick Donovan - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Armageddon * 02 Under The Hammer * 03 Rock The Nation * 04 Marshall Law * 05 Hearts And Thunder * 06 Screaming * 07 We're Hot * 08 Feel It * 09 System X * 10 Future Shock * 11 When Will It End

Long overdue for recognition are this long standing English traditional metal act who have been on the scene for two decades now with no signs of abandoning their quest in pursuit of metallic perfection. The Birmingham founded band obviously had one foot step based in the Judas Priest direction of heavy metal judging from this onslaught, only this is superior to 'Ram It Down'. The band went through a host of lineups before the debut was recorded, and this lineup didn't last long either. There had been a 1988 demo 'Future Shock' preceding the debut, but this powerful exercise in heavy metal is one of the best albums to come out of the tepid English scene of the late 80's.

The Songs
A quick scan of the titles is perhaps all you need to get an idea of what to expect here. 'Under The Hammer', 'Hearts And Thunder', 'Rock The Nation', 'We're Hot.......' it doesn't get any more clearer than that. Surging, fast paced metal with a twin guitar attack on overdrive is the story here. I've often seen Marshall Law described as power metal, but this is HEAVY metal, make no mistake. Melody is in high quantity, 'Under The Hammer' a good representation of the bands output, speed of light riffs with an anthemic hook and some superb vocals from Pyke. 'Feel It' has a touch of Leatherwolf about it, commercially minded and sadly 'System X' runs short on excitement, but it's the lone example. I prefer the faster tracks like 'We're Hot' and blatant anthems like 'Screaming'. Simply put this is a metal fans dream.

In Summary
It has been a rough road for Marshall Law over the years but they are still around and poised to release their latest album 'Razorhead' soon, a clip of which is available on their MySpace page, and well worth a listen. Although a clear Priest copy, it's as heavy as metal gets in 2008. Good to see the band has stuck to their roots and not given in to all the hopeless trends that have ruined many a metal act since 1991! Southwell left the band in 2006 which was a setback, but has since been replaced by Dave Rothan, with Pyke and Martin still at the helm.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Happy The Man - 2004 The Muse Awakens, Deadbeat Honeymooners - 1992 Deadbeat Honeymooners, Genesis - 1978 .. And Then There Were Three, Mothers Finest - 1976 Mothers Finest, Journey - 1976 Look Into The Future, Megadeth - 1994 Youthanasia, Morgan - 1972 Nova Solis, AC/DC - 1988 Blow Up Your Video, Gorden, Keith - 2010 A Place In Time, Bolton, Michael - 1991 Time Love And Tenderness, Gotthard - 2007 Domino Effect, Travers And Appice - 2004 It Takes A Lot Of Balls, Superhero - 2005 Fake Lunar Landing, Romeo's Daughter - 1993 Delectable, Cher - 1991 Love Hurts
Rock Candy Records Toto Atlantic S.a.Y Pride (UK) This Picture Chris Irvine Durocs Vicious Rumors Spina & Sullivan Dungeon Sons Of Apollo Point Blank Granati Bros Les Variations Night Plane Steal The Dark PM Peter Mayer Time Bandits Outlaws And Moonshine EP Steelhorse (Spain) Saxon Dirty Passion EP Z Plan Live Albums Emerald Rain Big Mouth Scrounger IQ Warrant Paul Brady Jefferson Starship
All Tags