Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16620
Ratings: 4879
Forum Posts: 22005
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2002 Articles » Sweet, The - 2002 Life
Sweet, The - 2002 Life

Andy Scott - guitars, vocals (lead vocals, Tracks 4 and 8)
Jeff Brown - lead vocals, bass
Steve Grant - keyboards, vocals
Bruce Bisland - drums

You're probably wondering.. Sweet, weren't they the seventies bubble gum rockers with hits like 'Blockbuster', 'Ballroom Blitz' and 'Fox On The Run'? Yep, they sure were, and guess what, the band still exists today, beyond the legacy of Brian Connolly and Mick Tucker. Original guitarist Andy Scott still leads the way, the band have been active for many years unbeknown to some, and this album at least, features two of the dudes from fellow UK rockers Statetrooper, namely bassist and now lead singer Jeff Brown and the ever-present Bruce Bisland. Rounding out the band is keyboardist Steve Grant, who adds the polish to the Sweet sound. So right George, bring us up to date if you will? Well apparently there are two versions of Sweet going around. Andy Scott's version, plus Steve Priests' version (he was the original bass player). This version though is probably closer to home in good ol' blighty, but don't expect any bubblegum pop from this lot. NoSiree! How about a dose of good ol' melodic rock with a sound zooming in on Praying Mantis and UFO? With Steve Grant in the picture, they even veer close to AOR (gasp!). No kidding!

The Songs
A return to the Scottish highlands graces the opening 'Sweet Life', blasts of familiar sounding bagpipes (they're synths actually) lead the way into a solid infectious singalong tune. The party swagger of 'Do It All Over Again' with a synth pattern keeping the beat echoes reminders of Lea Hart and Fastway, while the sweeping entrance to 'Everything' is a Praying Mantis doppleganger, surely! 'Leap Of Faith' has an electric/acoustic feel to it, not dissimilar to John Wetton's solo material, even right down to the vocal delivery by Andy Scott Who does the honors on this one. We get the Survivor like reverberation of 'Never Say Forever', the token AOR tune among this batch, which stabs out piano lines as if Jim Peterik was hovering in the background keeping watch. They take a turn for the bizarre with the schmaltzy 'Airheads!'. What is this? A Queen outtake? Continuing this approach is the vocal bombast of 'So Far So Good'. Check it out. Fans of the topical Aviary, Russia et al, should listen to the overblown choruses, not heard since those Robby Valentine albums! 'Everybody Wants To Be Someone' is a bit of straight-up hard rock bordering on the predictable with cliches galore, but is redeemed by 'Neon Psychedelia', a much better tune. The closer is a off-beat classical instrumental, which could quite easily be the background music to one of those BBC Sunday afternoon programmes!!

In Summary
Despite all that, a very good album with a bit of everything for everyone. Unfortunately this version of the band has now changed. As of April 2003, Jeff Brown has departed, the vocal spot now picked up by Praying Mantis and Horakane shouter Tony O'Hora. I'm sure we'll see more to come from this version of Sweet. Over to you Scotty!

Track Time: 51.53

Track Listing:
01 Sweetlife
02 Do It All Over Again
03 Everything
04 Leap Of Faith
05 You're Crazy
06 Never Say Forever
07 Airheads!
08 So Far So Good
09 Everybody Want To Be Someone
10 Neon Pyschedelia
11 Sweetlife Overunderture

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Search DDG