Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6740
Comments: 16305
Ratings: 4352
Forum Posts: 21544
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2007 Articles » Dreamscape - 2007 5th Season
Dreamscape - 2007 5th Season

ARTIST: Dreamscape
ALBUM: 5th Season
LABEL: Massacre Records
YEAR: 2007


LINEUP: Roland Stoll - vocals * Wolfgang Kerinnis - guitars * Jan Vacik - keyboards * Benno Schmidtler - bass * Michael Schwager - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Fed Up With * 02 Borderline * 03 5th Season * 04 Deja Vu * 05 Phenomenon * 06 Somebody * 07 Different * 08 Point Zero * 09 Farewell


WEBLINKS: www.dreamscape.de

We haven't reviewed any prog metal stuff for quite some time. I've deliberately steered clear of that genre because I'm not seeing anything significantly different or interesting coming out. Apart from the tried and trues acts that I really like (such as Pagans Mind), not many others get a look in. I've recently dipped my feet back in the mercury-filled vessels of prog metal to see whats available. I've stumbled upon German band Dreamscape as an exception. We have reviewed this band previously, and it appears they have retained their Dream Theater obsession with a vengeance. Now you can add in other outfits playing in a similar vein: Symphony X, Van Den Plas, Evergrey, Pagans Mind and to a lesser extent Magnitude Nine as other examples of prog influenced mayhem. As you can tell per the title, this is their fifth tilt at glory, but it may be their last. It seems that three members of the band are leaving after the release of this album. Roland Stoll, Jan Vacik and Benno Schmidtler are departing, so that clearly decimates the Dreamscape team. So, what did they leave behind?

The Songs
Powerful guitars and dark keyboards bind around each other like a tight coil on opener 'Fed Up With'. The tempo shifts around a bit - never quite standing still nor moving at breakneck pace. 'Borderline' is thick with heaving guitar rhythms and some distorted keyboard runs that Derek Sherinian would be pleased to hear. The obvious stand out track is the mesmeric title track '5th Season'. At 14mins 35s, it is the jewel in the crown of this album. Eastern melodies pervade throughout, passages of music intertwine, you get the typical ebb/flow, hard-heavy/light-lilting contrasts, and enough space for lead guitars and keyboards to stand apart. 'Deja Vu' is heavier, and takes on the personality of many of the aforementioned bands, whereas 'Phenomenon' initially has many lighter parts contained within. It is still prone to letting off sparks during the running time, but mostly its restrained. Another complex piece is the near 8min 'Somebody', again with change-up moments galore. Piano parts are prominent among the scattered guitar counter-measures strewn about on 'Different'. 'Point Zero' broods with all the power that this band can muster. And just to prove to everyone that they do have a deft hand in writing ballads, they deliver 'Farewell' which is pretty melodic and traditionally prog based (minus the metal).

In Summary
'5th Season' is a strong album, well played, high on melody, with few weak points. I liked it but didn't love it - if you know what I mean. That's not a bad thing, because sometimes you can play something that is good, but it doesn't quite grab you by the 'short and curlies'! Actually, since Seventh Wonder's amazing 'Waiting In The Wings' album from last year, I haven't heard an album since that has come close. However, guitarist Wolfgang Kerinnis is rumored to be keeping the Dreamscape flag flying - but with new personnel obviously, so we'll be on the lookout for any announcement on that front in the future.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
Tags: Dreamscape 
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 0% [No Votes]
85% 85% 0% [No Votes]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 100% [1 Vote]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Articles Cloud
Crystal Eyes - 2005 Confessions Of The Maker, Find Me - 2013 Wings Of Love, Edge Of The Blade - 2015 The Ghosts Of Humans, UFO - 1983 Making Contact, Classics IV - 1975 The Very Best Of The Classics IV, Asia - 2008 Phoenix, Antics - 1994 We're Just Bad Boys, Unison - 1976 Unison, Lynx - 1978 Sneak Attack, Lake, Greg - 1983 Manoeuvres, American Suitcase - 2000 Bluefoot, Valensia - 2017 Eden And The Second Serpent/The Secret Album, Sugarcreek - 1982 Fortune, Holland, Amy - 1983 On Your Every Word, U.D.O - 2013 Steelhammer
Pagans Mind Def Leppard Wycked Synn Saga Brian Howe Square One Mike Slamer Rock Candy Records Wounded Bird Streets Billy Greer Steve Walsh Five Way Friday Semaja Actors And Actresses Rex Wounded Bird Omega Max Webster Rock Candy Records Honeymoon Suite Radio Moscow Sparks Grace Grand Illusion Raindancer Kiss Fates Warning Dave Adams Glass Moon Whitford St Holmes David A Saylor Toys Of Joy Nitro Michael Batio Jim Gilette Best Of 2011 Chicago (Band) Level Hauteville Soul Seller
All Tags
Search DDG