Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16620
Ratings: 4879
Forum Posts: 22005
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2007 Articles » Machine Men - 2007 Circus Of Fools
Machine Men - 2007 Circus Of Fools

ARTIST: Machine Men
ALBUM: Circus Of Fools
LABEL: Century Media
SERIAL: 77616-2
YEAR: 2007


LINEUP: Anthony - vocals * J-V - guitars * Jani - guitars * Eero - bass * Jarno - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Circus Of Fools * 02 No Talk Without Giants * 03 Ghost Of The Season * 04 Tyrannize * 05 The Shadow Gallery * 06 Where I Stand * 07 Border Of The Real World * 08 Dying Without A Name * 09 Cardinal Point



A few years we were fortunate to be introduced to Finnish outfit Machine Men. Back then, the band were trying hard to be Iron Maiden, admittedly they were young with lots to learn. After a spate of albums since their debut EP, the Maiden-isms haven't entirely been dispensed with, the 'robotic ones' having found their own identity, but it still includes a healthy respect for the Irons along with fellow Brit metallers Judas Priest. The difference is in the delivery mechanism. MM undoubtedly have the fresh face of modern metal on their side, and seem to be going about their work industriously. Some other reviews have stated that MM don't sound much different than their prior albums 'Scars And Wounds' (2003) and 'Elegies' (2005). That may be true for some listeners, others might hear different.

The Songs
Singer Tony Parviainen certainly should have been donating royalties to the Iron's Bruce Dickinson if his past efforts were anything to do by, but on 'Circus Of Fools' it's less obvious than before - and better too in my estimation. His voice is a stand out throughout the album, and he dictates terms like the school headmaster wielding the big stick! The manic but melodic fury of the title track raises the expectation of the album immediately! The strangely titled 'No Talk Without The Giant' veers toward a melodic metal stance, taking on the likes of Riot and Masterplan at their own game. Probably the best track here 'Tyrannize' is also the album's heaviest. The riffs have been dredged straight up from the deep, black as obsidian, and dark as the night. Just to disprove that this isn't a dark and doomy/gloomy affair, the band deliver 'Where I Stand', a bright light on the MM horizon. Like the epic 15 minute 'Scars And Wounds' title track which rounds out their 2003 debut, 'The Cardinal Point' similarly does the honors here.. at 7 and a half minutes, this track could be considered an epic, and lines up reasonably in the comparison stakes to fellow Finns Thunderstone.

In Summary
This is a pretty short album by power-metal standards, clocking in at just over 40 minutes. Therefore, you get no excess and no self-indulgence. It's short, sharp and extremely snappy. A sugar-bullet that'll satisfy your hunger pangs in next to no time. I doubt they'll be many metal fans skipping this fair platter.. it really is a goodie. Make sure you line up and grab your ticket to this particular circus. There ain't no fools here!

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 100% [1 Vote]
85% 85% 0% [No Votes]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Search DDG