Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Latest Comments
Guys she's on Facebook, I...
Maybe Franne was friends ...
Rudy was co-written by Fe...
Great album and excellent...
H.E.A.T - 2017 Redefined ...
H.E.A.T - 2017 Eye Of The...
Keldian - 2017 Blood Red ...
No, I'm changing my mind ...
Code Red - 2017 Heat Of T...
Yeah, I quite liked this,...
Midnite City - 2017 Summe...
Target - 1979 Taxman [yo...
Cher - 1982 Rudy [youtub...
Cher - 1982 Games [youtu...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Devi...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Head...
Neal Schon - 1989 Softly ...
Getting back into this al...
You must login to post a message.

20-11-2017 22:15
Anyone have a rip of the Daddy Warbucks album on Tiger Lily from 76 please?

19-11-2017 09:44
Burn (UK) will have their new album 'Ice Age' released in Japan via Marquee/Avalon on Nov 22. The album is then released worldwide on Jan 19th 2018 via Melodicrock Records.

19-11-2017 09:40
I was a bit cranky last week, waiting for various things to happen with the website transition. God it's good to be back. Didn't Gary Glitter sing a song like that? dogrun

19-11-2017 07:06
Note to all Members. Please review your Message inboxes. Some of these are getting rather large. Thanks.

19-11-2017 03:05
OK, all the YouTube videos are working again. Just use the YT link, and then encase in tags [ youtube] at the start, [/ youtube] at the end. Cool. Thumbs Up

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2006 Articles » Ambition - 2006 Ambition
Ambition - 2006 Ambition

ARTIST: Ambition
ALBUM: Ambition
LABEL: Frontiers
YEAR: 2006


LINEUP: Thom Griffin, Jean-Michel Byron, Joe Vana - vocals * Tommy Denander - guitars * Fabrizio V.Zee Grossi - bass, keyboards * Masayoshi Yamasuka, Joachim Cannaiuolo - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Hold On * 02 Hypocrites * 03 Alone I Cry * 04 Shaping Fate And Destiny * 05 All I Need * 06 Make It Alright * 07 No Wasted Moments * 08 Together * 09 Too Much *10 Hunger * 11 The Promise * 12 Waiting In My Dreams (Bonus)


Another Frontiers project.. of sorts, kicks off the 2006 year in style. This is Ambition, and it features primarily the vocal talent of Thom Griffin, better remembered as the voice behind the pomp wonders Trillion, on their second album 'Clear Approach'. Now, that was 1980, some 26 years ago. So Griffin makes a Rip Van Winkle like appearance in 2006, though trainspotters will tell you that he put in an appearance on the Mecca album in 2002, but that doesn't really count. Propping up the album are a couple of talents in ex Toto voice Jean-Michel Byron, Mecca frontman Joe Vana, who himself has been overly absent off duty, the erstwhile and dependable Tommy Denander, and all-round producer and general good guy Fabrizio Grossi. Because of that Mecca connection, Griffin and Vana started putting some material together, at the insistence of Frontiers Records. When Vana fell ill and withdrew from the Ambition project, things went all pear-shaped. Come to the rescue Fabrizio Grossi, who put a distress call out among the songwriting community for some songs that Thom could sing. Contributions by Joey Carbone, Christian Wolff and Brian LeBlanc provide the backbone of the Ambition album, and hence we have an album which sits readily on the dividing line of AOR and melodic rock. Musically, the album takes a shot at the Toto dartboard. Though Griffin was only fleetingly introduced to listeners via the one album (the aforementioned 'Clear Approach' album. All things considered, he has adapted to the hard rock genre well, and has repaid the faith that Frontiers Records put in him on the strength of that one and only prior appearance with Trillion.

The Songs
All of the songs are enjoyable, whether it's the racy 'Shaping Fate And Destiny', the scandi-rock sound of 'Together', or the primo AOR of 'Hunger' and 'Make It Alright', the album hangs together quite nicely. The album also features a Mr Mister cast-off 'Waiting In My Dreams' which features Joe Vana.

In Summary
Overall, Ambition is a good way to start off the 2006 year, and also a teaser for the forthcoming Toto album next month. It's great to hear Thom Griffin back in the current limelight again, and I'm sure now that he's had a look-in, that it won't take twenty plus years to hear from him again.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
Tags: Ambition 
#1 | ROBERT on February 16 2006 18:12:38
Totalmente recomendado!
AOR, rozando el WEST/COAST tipo FINGERPRINTS, WEST OF SUNSET, y mas recientemente CROSSFADE, incluso RADIOACTIVE...
Me encanta, ya me gustaria q hubiera muxos discos como este!
Saludos dd Barna!WinkSmile
#2 | george_the_jack on June 11 2008 15:59:35
Great album with solid melodic voices! Personally, one of Denander's best!
#3 | Jez on June 16 2008 12:50:23
All in all a thumbs up. It all starts off very well for the first half dozen tracks, with 'Hold On', 'Hypocrites' & 'Shaping' all being excellent AOR with Griffin & Tommy D particularly shining. The quality doesn't last throughout though, with 'No Wasted Moments' being a particular 'Pig' of a track along with a couple of other rather average fillers in the second half.
So to summise, Not perfect, but highly enjoyable in places, especially the first half, coupled with some quality performances from all involved throughout, with special note for having Thom Griffin back and singing as well as ever.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 0% [No Votes]
85% 85% 0% [No Votes]
80% 80% 100% [1 Vote]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Articles Cloud
Charlie - 1979 Fight Dirty, Devay - 1992 Break Down The Walls, Rage Of Angels - 2016 The Devils New Tricks, White Heart - 1989 Freedom, Over The Edge - 2004 Over The Edge, Retrogress, The - 2014 Future Stories From the Past EP, Nasty Savage - 1985 Nasty Savage, Baltimoore - 2004 Ultimate Tribute, Anthrax - 1985 Spreading The Disease, Big Mouth - 1997 Hands Of Time, Aquila - 2002 Say Yeah, Aviator - 1986 Aviator, Norton, Paul - 1990 Under A Southern Sky, Stefanie - 2017 Stefanie, Bonoff, Karla - 1988 New World
Iron Butterfly Oliver Hartmann Victory Group Los Angeles Something Wicked Baby Tuckoo Its Alive ZZ Top 9-1-1 Starbuck Rock Candy Records Survivor Patty Brard Empire (Australia) VFX The Nights 8084 Saracen John Norum Barclay James Harvest Time Bandits Highwind Stiletto (Canada) Silverado Brownsmith Blue Way Wounded Bird The Dukes Asian Typhoon Billy Satellite Scandal Rock Candy Records Patty Smyth Thunderstone
All Tags
Search DDG