Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6862
Comments: 16620
Ratings: 4879
Forum Posts: 22015
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 1989 Articles » Winter Rose - 1989 Winter Rose
Winter Rose - 1989 Winter Rose

ARTIST: Winter Rose
ALBUM: Winter Rose
LABEL: Self Released
YEAR: 1989
CD REISSUE: 1997, Inside Out Music, IOMCD 015 * 1997, Victoe (Japan), VICP-5852


LINEUP: James LaBrie - lead vocals * Richard Chycki - guitars, bass * Randy Cooke - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Asylum City * 02 I'll Never Fall In Love Again * 03 Rough Boys * 04 Dianna * 05 One Last Time * 06 Never Let Me Go * 07 My Time * 08 Nothing But The Best * 09 Saved By Love * 10 Thrill Of The Night

The first album to feature vocals from James Labrie, Winter Rose is a sensational Canadian melodic hard rock album from 1989, which was a pretty good year for the genre in general. While the likes of Tesla, Badlands, Danger Danger and Silent Rage were getting a good amount of attention, Winter Rose remained relatively untouched. And criminally so. Once again Winter Rose are a band who, if the world was fair, should have had their name up in lights just like Tesla, etc. This one-time album competes with and even defeats many of the albums now regarded as classics from 1989. If hooks, melody, searing melodic solo's and mountain-sized choruses were the only criteria for fame then Dream Theater may not have the vocalist they have today.

The Songs
Ever wondered what James would sound like singing Van Halen, then 'Asylum City' will give you a fair idea. Straight ahead 80's hard rock done in grand style. Second song in and Winter Rose hit the mother-lode. 'I'll Never Fall In Love Again' is as close to perfection as you can come. The chorus will grip your memory for months, let alone days. Some of the finest punchy melodic rock you will ever hear. The Sunset Strip was created for songs like 'Rough Boys', and 'Dianna' is the quintessential 80's hard rock ballad. James sounds majestic on 'One Last Time'. A hard rock riff punctuated by a melodic rock style chorus. The Sunset Strip sound comes through again on the fun party rock anthem 'Never Let Me Go'. MTV would have lapped this up, if there had been a video. The band head back to melodic rock ground with 'My Time', and then dabble with a touch of bluesy hard rock on 'Nothing But The Best'. Winter Rose slow down minimally on the power ballad 'Saved By Love', and then take the album out on another very high note with 'Thrill Of The Night'. Another punchy track with a sublime chorus.

In Summary
James Labrie is the name people will recognise most from this line up, but credit must be given to Richard Chycki for his fantastic guitar work. Randy Cooke will be familiar to some for his work with Honeymoon Suite and Lee Aaron, to name a few. Combined, they put together a near perfect example of 80's melodic hard rock, which secured two reissues in 1997.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

#1 | george_the_jack on July 01 2008 11:18:49
Not a bad album but the super hit is the 2nd track...'I'll never fall in love again'' is a song that sticks in your mind from the first time you listen to it..An all time classic m. hard rock anthem. Commenting on the album, is really strange listening to James Labrie singing non progressive stuff.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Search DDG