Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16579
Ratings: 4791
Forum Posts: 21868
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2005 Articles » Eternal Reign - 2005 Forbidden Path
Eternal Reign - 2005 Forbidden Path

Dirk Stuhmer - vocals
Torsten Funfhaus - guitars
Michael Sebastian - guitars
Bjorn Meyer - keyboards
Jorg Hassel - bass
Andre Genuit - drums

If I'm correct these northern German's are based in Bremen, which happens to be where my mum is from. So I've always been interested in hearing something from these guys. Their debut 'Crimes of Passion' has a great rep, but getting a copy of it is as easy as getting into a Motorhead show wearing a Britney Spears t-shirt!!! Therefore I cannot make a comparison with 'Crimes of Passion', but 'Forbidden Path' stands alone as a quality melodic metal release.

The Songs
German they may be, but Eternal Reign don't strike you as Deutsch. One of the tracks is a cover of Breaker's 'Ten Seconds In', apparently a strong influence on the band. I'm not familiar with that US band but to me Eternal Reign exhibit the old school American metal sound, very similar to that found on the self titled album by Vicious Rumors. Some of the choruses sound very VR, such as 'Nightstalker'. Vocalist Dirk Stuhmer definitely isn't your typical high pitched German vocalist, showing off a strong mid to high range voice similar to the late Carl Albert. Now, when they do sound a touch German it is mostly like the heavy hitting Brainstorm.

In Summary
Whether 'Forbidden Path' is a step up from their debut is impossible for me to say, unless someone would be kind enough to send me a copy of 'Crimes Of Passion'. Amongst some of the superb melodic metal albums already released in 2005, Eternal Reign may become lost in the mix, but that would be a shame as 'Forbidden Path' has a number of excellent tracks such as the title track, 'Edge of the World' and the aforementioned 'Nightstalker'. Not an absolute belter of an album but Eternal Reign are heading along the right path.


Track Listing:
01 Gate to Infinity
02 Light The Light
03 Into My Own Hands
04 The Final Call
05 Edge Of The World
06 Les Reves En Plastique
07 Forbidden Path
08 Losing Ground
09 Set The Sails
10 Nightstalker
11 Ten Seconds In


Related Articles:

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Search DDG