Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16579
Ratings: 4791
Forum Posts: 21868
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2001 Articles » Paradise - 2001 Light The Fire
Paradise - 2001 Light The Fire

Doug Johnson - keyboards, vocals
George Criston - vocals
Joe Wowk - guitars

Paradise is the product of a partnership between Doug Johnson (Loverboy) and George Criston (Kick Axe, Criston/Harvey). The result is a powerful blend of AOR with hard rock sensibilities, which can best be described as Hard AOR. They took their name from the turbo charged album opener Paradise, and it's just the kind of tonic we've been craving in the last ten years of grunge infestation - totally unapologetic power AOR in the mid 80's vein.

The Songs
'Love Is' takes a slightly smoother route, treating us to out and out AOR with as big a chorus as you'll hear all year. 'You Have The Touch' revisits the midtempo/power ballad theme, coming out very reminiscent of Whitesnake's 'Is This Love', delivered with conviction. 'Love Surgery' and 'Rockiday' are back on the borderline with hard rock, with lyrics that remind me of Loverboy at their fun loving goofiest. Nevertheless, two very catchy anthems that thumb their noses at the notion of flannel shirts and shoegazing. 'XTC' is a very melodic ode to temptation, combining hard rock attitude with AOR musicianship. Other highlights include the dramatic and well crafted 'Ride The Storm Alone' and the simmering slow burn of the closing and title track 'Light The Fire'.

In Summary
I have to say I'm not sure about this album cover - it looks like a gothic or death metal album, which belies the melodic treats waiting inside. If you see this one in your store, get it and let the music do the convincing. One last thing, the production is really clear and big, well done Doug Johnson. Wait a minute, he wrote all 11 tracks as well - crafty one isn't he?

Track Listing:
01 Paradise
02 Love Is
03 You Have The Touch
04 Love Surgery
05 Rockiday
06 2xtc
07 Going Down To Sin City
08 Ride The Storm Alone
09 Birds Of A Feather
10 Paralyse Eyes
11 Light The Fire

Related Articles:

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

#1 | sabace on January 02 2012 17:46:39
really like this lp - the review is spot on
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Search DDG