Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16620
Ratings: 4879
Forum Posts: 22005
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 1996 Articles » Brazen Abbot - 1996 Eye Of The Storm
Brazen Abbot - 1996 Eye Of The Storm

ARTIST: Brazen Abbot
ALBUM: Eye Of The Storm
LABEL: Victor (Japan)
YEAR: 1996
CD REISSUE: 1997, USG Records, 37437-2 * 2005, Steamhammer, SPV 99622 CD


LINEUP: Nikolo Kotzev - guitars, keyboards, piano, percussion, violin, bass and organ on 'I'll Be There For You' * Joe Lynn Turner, Thomas Vikstrom, Goran Edman - vocals * Ian Haugland - drums * Mic Michaeli - organs * John Leven - bass

TRACK LISTING: 01 Eye Of The Storm * 02 Twist Of Fate * 03 Fool In Love * 04 Line Of Fire * 05 Wake Up Everybody * 06 Everything's Gonna Be Alright * 07 Common People * 08 The Road To Hell * 09 Restless In Seattle * 10 Highway Cindy * 11 I'll Be There For You

This is perhaps the best Brazen Abbot album of the lot, to my way of thinking. For those of you with a love of late seventies hard rock, a la UFO, Deep Purple, or Thin Lizzy, then you need look no further than Nikolo Kotsev's project band. Containing a wealth of superstars, the sound may be set in the seventies, but it is given the nineties update with the appropriate technology upgrade to go alongside it. The guitar riffs and organ flurries give this album a retro feel, and certainly you can tell it has its origins in 1996. Most of the songs are sung by Joe Lynn Turner, and his contributions make for a very commercial effort all around. But let's not forget the contributions made by Goran Edman and Thomas Vikstrom. Kotsev is fortunate enough to have three world class vocalists at his disposal.

The Songs
There are many highlights here, you can't go wrong with the first five songs for instance. All are excellent. Who can forget the excellent 'Fool In Love', a classic track with the impassioned vocals of Edman standing out. This is a must hear. The opener 'Eye Of The Storm' churns away relentlessly, a vicious riff alongside the pounding back section from the Europe boys. The organic nature of 'Twist Of Fate' takes us back to the seventies, while 'Line Of Fire' and 'Wake Up Everybody' keep the feet stomping and the attention prominent. 'Everything's Gonna Be Allright' weaves its magic through what is an extended piece of music - soaring mostly. 'Highway Cindy', though sung by Thomas Vikstrom, sounds as if he has taken lessons from Glenn Hughes, such as the similarity.

In Summary
And while Brazen Abbot continues to be an ongoing venture for Kotsev, I still feel this is one album to get. But don't let that stop you from getting the rest. They are all worthwhile.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

100% 100% 0% [No Votes]
95% 95% 0% [No Votes]
90% 90% 100% [1 Vote]
85% 85% 0% [No Votes]
80% 80% 0% [No Votes]
75% 75% 0% [No Votes]
70% 70% 0% [No Votes]
65% 65% 0% [No Votes]
60% 60% 0% [No Votes]
55% 55% 0% [No Votes]
50% 50% 0% [No Votes]
45% 45% 0% [No Votes]
40% 40% 0% [No Votes]
35% 35% 0% [No Votes]
30% 30% 0% [No Votes]
25% 25% 0% [No Votes]
20% 20% 0% [No Votes]
15% 15% 0% [No Votes]
10% 10% 0% [No Votes]
Search DDG