Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Latest Comments
Way better than the first...
Guys she's on Facebook, I...
Maybe Franne was friends ...
Rudy was co-written by Fe...
Great album and excellent...
H.E.A.T - 2017 Redefined ...
H.E.A.T - 2017 Eye Of The...
Keldian - 2017 Blood Red ...
No, I'm changing my mind ...
Code Red - 2017 Heat Of T...
Yeah, I quite liked this,...
Midnite City - 2017 Summe...
Target - 1979 Taxman [yo...
Cher - 1982 Rudy [youtub...
Cher - 1982 Games [youtu...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Devi...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Head...
Neal Schon - 1989 Softly ...
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2001 Articles » Takara - 2001 Perception Of Reality
Takara - 2001 Perception Of Reality

Michael Flatters - vocals
Neal Grusky - guitars
Carl Demarco - bass
Brook Hansen - keyboards
Chad Clark - drums

Since Takara's last release 'Blind In Paradise' there has been a drastic change in personnel, in particular the departure of Jeff Scott Soto. Not only did Takara's leader Neal Grusky have the daunting prospect of finding a new vocalist, he also had to search for a new keyboardist and bassist as they also buggered off. Stepping up to the plate came Brook Hansen (keyboards), Chad Clark (drums) and Michael Flatters (vocals). With the line up complete, Takara spent a year in the studio recording their latest offering 'Perception Of Reality'. Before we get into the tracks themselves, I'm sure there are those readers who are concerned about the performance of the new vocalist. Will he sound as good as Jeff? Will he have a similar style? Any concerns can be allayed as Michael has put in a fine performance. I don't think Takara has lost anything at all in the vocal stakes.

The Songs
Neal Grusky has such a distinctive guitar tone, I wouldn't expect Takara to sound like anyone other than Takara. Having said that, you do get the impression that there has been a step up in the class stakes. Opener 'Miles Away' signals immediately that Takara haven't deviated from their acclaimed brand of melodic rock and it also serves notice that Michael Flatter's is a quality vocalist. 'Shadows In The Night' further increases ones impression of Mr. Flatter's and the feeling that the Grusky/Flatters relationship has been very fruitful. The next three tracks show a different side to Takara with the slightly proggy 'Tomorrow', the wonderful ballad 'Without You' and the high energy, hard edged pop rock of 'Ready To Promise'. With those slight deviations in approach we are back to a more familiar Takara on 'L.I.E.S', 'Dream Of It All', 'Believe' and 'Tell Me', all very good rockers with Takara's typical smooth choruses.

In Summary
Credit has to go to Neal Grusky for persevering after some big upheavals within the band. The addition of Michael Flatters is most welcome and so is the energy that the new members have brought to 'Perception Of Reality'. On a slightly sour note, I have to draw attention to the fact that this album is only 39 minutes in duration, which really isn't good enough. I'm sure they could have come up with another couple of songs (only nine to be had). However, the quality of the material and the bands performance does help to make up for it.

URL: www.takararocks.com

Track Listing:
01 Miles Away
02 Shadows In The Night
03 Tomorrow
04 Without You
05 Ready To Promise
06 L.I.E.S
07 Dream Of It All
08 Believe
09 Tell Me

Related Articles:

Takara - 2001 Perception Of Reality

Takara - 2002 A Taste Of Heaven (Reissue)

Takara - 2002 Eternal Faith (Reissue)

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
Tags: Takara 
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Foreigner - 1984 Agent Provocateur, Megadeth - 1994 Youthanasia, Raven - 1988 Nothing Exceeds Like Excess, Infernophonic - 2007 Spark It Up, Eisley, David Glen - 2000 Stranger From The Past, Anthem - 2008 Black Empire, Dream Theater - 2007 Systematic Chaos, Kingdom Come - 2002 Independent, Raven - 2009 Walk Through Fire, Survivor - 1988 Too Hot To Sleep, Saxon - 2011 Call To Arms, TNT - 1984 Knights Of The New Thunder, Tesla - 1989 The Great Radio Controversy, Bush, Stan - 2014 The Ultimate, Clark, Michael - 1979 Save The Night
Channel 5 Black N Blue Judas Priest Outrider Michael Sembello Rough Cutt Rock Candy Records The Gathering Paul Janz Ghost (Norway) Bad Radiator Holly Stanton Metal Church Soul Seller Jeff Beck Private Life Day One Something Wicked Whitesnake Heart Symphonic Slam Blackmores Castle P.O.D Riot Todd Rundgren Kasim Sulton New Cars Coney Hatch Rock Candy Records Wireless Sneaker Asia Blue Murder John Sykes GTR
All Tags
Search DDG