Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16579
Ratings: 4791
Forum Posts: 21868
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2000 Articles » Kurgans Bane - 2000 The Future Lies Broken
Kurgans Bane - 2000 The Future Lies Broken

Lisa Francis - vocals
Pete Laramee - guitars
Luis Nasser - bass, keyboards
Jeff Laramee - drums

Kurgan's Bane are a US band with a foot in both camps: one being progressive rock, the other a slight AOR/melodic rock direction. Their influences have been described as closely aligned to Canadians Saga and Rush, though the latter is more distinctive upon first listening. Not as immediate as other bands playing this same style (a la Spocks Beard, Enchant etc), but theres enough promise here for this band to work on. Based in Baltimore, Kurgan's Bane are unusual in that a woman is out in front singing, not something you'd expect from a band playing progressive rock. Lisa Francis' voice is sung in a lower register most of the time, but climbs out of the shadows as the band builds up to a crescendo during their songs.

The Songs
Where the Rush influence kicks in, we are transported back to the 'Hemispheres' and 'Permanent Waves' era, Jeff Laramee has obviously worked very hard at achieving a style close to Neil Peart, and that's not something to be sniffed at, considering Peart is an extremely technically proficient drummer. The best tracks for me are the excellent 'Warm Winter Nights' and the symphonic 'The Curtain And the Rose'. Though it took a few listens to get the hang of their material I came out feeling rather pleased, and am giving this a fair bit of treatment on the CD player. I've also taken the liberty of uploading the album details onto the CDDB Internet database.

In Summary
The byline saying they may be this years 'musical comet' is a little brash, but thankfully they're good enough to at least prevent themselves from crashing to earth with a bang.

Track Listing:
01 Through The Camera
02 Just Look At Me Now
03 Warm Winter Nights
04 Frankie Five Angles
05 Headless Mice
06 Feudal Torniquet
07 Nap In E Minor
08 The Curtain And The Rose
09 Bad Blood
10 Broken Clock
11 Regina

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

#1 | trillion1999 on October 27 2011 17:40:05
I remember liking this very much.I might even have kept it.Another one of those where I saw the magic word Saga.The record-store that had EthosShockpen Up on vinyl had this one sitting there on the shelf for the longest time so I finally gave in and took it home.As usually with me I do not remember anything after taking it for a spin only that I enjoyed it when I did.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Search DDG