Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16620
Ratings: 4879
Forum Posts: 22005
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2003 Articles » Syron Vanes - 2003 Insane
Syron Vanes - 2003 Insane

Rimbert Vahlstroem - vocals, guitars
Anders Hahne - guitars
Staffan Lindstedt - drums
Jacob Lagergren - bass

It's been sixteen long years since Sweden's Syron Vanes released an album. Their last 'Revenge' was back in 1986 on Ebony Records. Over the next few years the band entered into and then pulled out of deals with the likes of CBS and Epic. Though they hadn't released any new albums, the band have been playing live constantly. Now in 2003 the band have a new label and their new album 'Insane'. It's a bit suprising to find that Syron Vanes are Swedish, as their music actually sounds quite Australian. No frills, blues based metal with a slight boogie feel. They remind me quite a bit of Aussie rockers Judge Mercy and Horsehead, but with bigger choruses.

The Songs
The album gets going with the scorching title track. An immensely catchy riff and chorus. Seems like they've slipped back into the groove pretty well. They've got another top notch tune in 'Why' with it's basic riff and huge chorus. 'Bad Desire' has another cool chorus and a fast NWOBHM riff. Those would have to be the stand out tracks on 'Insane'. The 12 tracks available are all competent heavy rock, but the sound and tempo does become repetitive after a while and you do lose a little bit of interest along the way. The album definitely could have done with more variety. I can't fault the performances, though, as singer Rimbert Vahlstroem has a good rock voice and the guitar work is solid, as is the production.

In Summary
Good on the band for sticking to their guns and keeping Syron Vanes alive after all these years. 'Insane' is a good comeback album, but whether it will attract new fans is debatable. A fresher, more consistent approach might be needed on their next outing.

Track Time: 39:45

Track Listing:
01 Insane
02 No Difference
03 Why
04 Bad Desire
05 Kill The Dead
06 Holy Man
07 Deathroll
08 Human Faces
09 Black World
10 Rock N Roll Parole
11 King Of Day
12 Keep Me Up

Related Articles:

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Search DDG