Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6825
Comments: 16465
Ratings: 4520
Forum Posts: 21582
Latest Comments
This debut is chocked ful...
The band really broadens ...
I've seen this many times...
A classic indeed and thei...
I hoped more from this al...
It was Heather Thomas in ...
Actually, 'Find The Lady'...
Cheers Dave, looking to g...
Great, Malcolm! I can hel...
Dave, it's already set up...
Great list, Jeffrey. The ...
Maybe an interview with G...
Finally got a copy of thi...
Thanks for the download y...
Yes Dave, I agree New Yor...
Very cool. I've always ha...
As a musician and avid li...
The problem with AOR as a...
Thanks Jose. However, man...
I would have voted "no" a...
You must login to post a message.

21-01-2018 21:04
Lucky and now skint, judging by the winning bid!!

21-01-2018 20:47
Some lucky Jeff Lynne fan got a real rarity!

21-01-2018 09:43
Yep in Argent, especially as Rod Argent and Jim we’re cousins.

21-01-2018 07:43
Didn't Rodford also play in Argent and Charlie too?

20-01-2018 22:04
Jim Rodford, bass player, The Kinks, Phoenix (I think?), but I remember him with The Zombies, saw live a while back. RIP

17-01-2018 21:50
In response to Cyrille Regis, BBC 2 repeat the Adrian Chiles documentary, Whites v Blacks, How Football Changed A Nation, unbelievable true story, worth watching

17-01-2018 18:44
Review of the rather splendid `Hornal` album is in the works too.

17-01-2018 01:57
Dave and Jeff's best of 2017 wrap-up's just around the corner too.. computer work

17-01-2018 01:56
There is a three-part article coming up for E.L.O (Eldorado, A New World Record and Out Of The Blue). Look out for it soon.

16-01-2018 08:52
Stoke fans have my commiserations.Und
er Lambert the Villa played some of the most boring, unimaginative football I`ve ever had the misfortune to witness.Relegation
?,yes I`d say so.

Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2001 Articles » Anatomic - 2001 In For The Thrill
Anatomic - 2001 In For The Thrill

Ryan Freedman - vocals, rhythm guitars
Johnny Rowland - lead and rhythm guitars
Jason Michael Eldridge - drums, percussion
J.J. Goncz - bass

Despite adopting a new edgier name, Shy Tiger's metamorphis into Anatomic proves nothing has really changed. The Bay Area band gained opening slots for Bon Jovi and Night Ranger and sold respectable numbers of their debut CD 'Feed The Kitty' with a high energy brand of melodic hard rock, and if that album did it for you, then there's an excellent chance 'In For The Thrill' will hit the right buttons again.

The Songs
A strong Def Leppard influence shines through on powerful opener 'Until Your Gone' with some humungous gang vocals, whilst the poppier 'Drift Away' is more akin to the likes of Bon Jovi circa '7800 Degrees' era. Even though it's enjoyable stuff, I'm still a little confused as to why the band changed names, as the band's sound hasn't changed dramatically. The riff-driven 'Deep End' quickens the pace somewhat, but along with 'Living A Lie' is one of the album's weaker tracks with its rock by numbers approach. However, that doesn't mean 'In For The Thrill' is made up of such tunes, as the band is at its best when they revert to the more melodic tunes in their repertoire, such as 'Goodbye Today', the anthemic 'Power Of The Heart' and the excellent ballad, 'Make It Real' (which as an extra bonus, is represented in both its electric and acoustic versions).

In Summary
Overall, it's clear that Anatomic has sensibly tried to create an individual sound on 'In For The Thrill' and the result is an album of enjoyable melodic rock as perfected by Bon Jovi, Firehouse and Def Leppard. It's not in that league, and probably won't get Anatomic signed to a major label, but will at least ensure the band a loyal following and healthy sales.

Track Listing:
01 Until You're Gone
02 Drift Away
03 Deep End
04 Out Of My Heart
05 Make It Real
06 Goodbye Today
07 Livin' A Lie
08 Hate To Say Goodbye
09 The Price
10 Power Of The Heart
11 Make It Real (Acoustic)

Related Articles:

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Nightwork - 1986 Nightwork, Bullet (Sweden) - 2012 Full Pull, Laban (Denmark) - 1986 Caught By Surprise, Nelson, Yvette - 2000 All For The Sake Of Love, The Big Easy - 1994 The Big Easy, Osukaru - 2015 Transition, Madison - 1986 Best In Show, Loggins, Kenny - 1982 High Adventure, Last Autumns Dream - 2005 II, Synch - 1986 Get The Feelin', Cell Mates - 1992 Between Two Fires, O Banion, John - 1985 White Light, Beau Coup - 1984 Beau Coup, Place Vendome - 2009 Streets Of Fire, Hansen, Randy - 1980 Randy Hansen
Chasing Violets Akiko Stone Soup Limelight Marc Jordan Grand Alliance 707 Laura Branigan Peter Frampton Kobra And The Lotus White Wizzard XYZ Balance Saga Revolution Road Glen Allen Green Helloween Johnny And The Distractions Steely Dan Aviator (UK) Train Billy Chinook Billy And The American Suns Sora Jono Astral Doors Great White Jack Russell Dakota Rock Candy Records Billy Trudel Culver Kingz Michael Thompson Black Sabbath One Truth
All Tags
Search DDG