Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Latest Comments
Guys she's on Facebook, I...
Maybe Franne was friends ...
Rudy was co-written by Fe...
Great album and excellent...
H.E.A.T - 2017 Redefined ...
H.E.A.T - 2017 Eye Of The...
Keldian - 2017 Blood Red ...
No, I'm changing my mind ...
Code Red - 2017 Heat Of T...
Yeah, I quite liked this,...
Midnite City - 2017 Summe...
Target - 1979 Taxman [yo...
Cher - 1982 Rudy [youtub...
Cher - 1982 Games [youtu...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Devi...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Head...
Neal Schon - 1989 Softly ...
Getting back into this al...
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2003 Articles » Hootie And The Blowfish - 2003 Hootie And The Blowfish
Hootie And The Blowfish - 2003 Hootie And The Blowfish

Darius Rucker - lead vocals, guitar, harmonica
Mark Bryan - guitar, mandolin, background vocals
Jim 'Soni' Sonefeld - drums, guitar, loops, background vocals
Dean Felber - bass, background vocals

Ten years after their breakthrough album 'Cracked Rear View', it's surprising to see South Carolina's Hootie And The Blowfish still releasing records, let alone releasing records on a major label. Atlantic Records may still be the band's home, but on the evidence of the band's first album for four years, it won't be for much longer. Despite the presence of legendary producer Don Was, Hootie And The Blowfish still manage to churn out music as bland and dull as the new release's unimaginative title suggests.

The Songs
Opener 'Deeper Side' epitomises everything about their sound that launched the band to multi-platinum stardom a decade ago, and if you remember 'Hold My Hand' or 'Only Wanna Be With You' from 'Cracked Rear View', you'll know it hasn't changed much. The syrupy schmaltz of 'Innocence' doesn't greatly experiment with the trademark formula either, and while it's nothing new at least 'Space' is a relatively raucous track for Hootie and showcases vocalist Darius Rucker's voice well. Despite their limitations, these songs are vastly preferable to the band's horrible attempt at funk on 'Little Brother' or the abomination that is 'Go and Tell Him (Soup Song)'. Elsewhere, more mid-paced rockers such as 'The Rain Song' and weak ballads like 'When She's Gone' clutter up the running order of an album that couldn't drag much more even if it was attempting to pull a ten-ton truck behind it!

In Summary
I'm sure there are fans out there who still appreciate what Hootie And The Blowfish have to offer, but on this mediocre album I don't think there's enough of them left to avoid the band's next release after this it could very well be a farewell greatest hits collection.

Track Listing:
01 Deeper Side
02 Little Brother
03 Innocence
04 Space
05 I'll Come Running
06 Tears Fall Down
07 The Rain Song
08 Show Me Your Heart
09 When She's Gone
10 Little Darlin'
11 Woody
12 Go And Tell Him (Soup Song)
13 Alright (Hidden Track)

Related Articles:

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
Bogart - 1980 Brandnew, Jidhed, Jim - 2003 Full Circle, Orr, Benjamin - 1986 The Lace, Magnum - 2012 On The Thirteenth Day, Bigelf - 2000 Money Machine, Niteflyte - 1981 Niteflyte II, Seventh Key - 2013 I Will Survive, The Essential Series - 2017 Power Pop (Volume 1), by Explorer, Carillo - 1979 Street Of Dreams, Hersey, Iain Ashley - 2011 Vintage Love: Best Of, Asia - 1982 Asia, Angel - 1979 Sinful, Wild Force - 1987 Wild Force, Lancer - 2017 Mastery, Merlin (Argentina) - 1980 Merlin
Gary Jeffries Mike Slamer Rock Candy Records Billy Greer Wounded Bird Streets Steve Walsh Sherbet Whitesnake Simms Brothers Band Crossfade Rock Candy Records Survivor The Rockets Saga Al Jarreau Blue Peter Beau Heart Trust Clover Huey Lewis Jett Black Chilliwack Maverick Strapps Jock Bartley Firefall Czakan Axis Danny Johnson Colosseum II Jerry Doucette Barry Goudreau Rock Candy Records Return To Zero (RTZ) Vigrass And Osborne Dare Spin Gallery Sargant Fury Daniel Amos Phil Vincent
All Tags
Search DDG