Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Latest Comments
Guys she's on Facebook, I...
Maybe Franne was friends ...
Rudy was co-written by Fe...
Great album and excellent...
H.E.A.T - 2017 Redefined ...
H.E.A.T - 2017 Eye Of The...
Keldian - 2017 Blood Red ...
No, I'm changing my mind ...
Code Red - 2017 Heat Of T...
Yeah, I quite liked this,...
Midnite City - 2017 Summe...
Target - 1979 Taxman [yo...
Cher - 1982 Rudy [youtub...
Cher - 1982 Games [youtu...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Revolution Saints - 2017 ...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Devi...
Black Sabbath - 1989 Head...
Neal Schon - 1989 Softly ...
Getting back into this al...
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2000 Articles » Elyte (Spain) - 2000 Unno
Elyte (Spain) - 2000 Unno

Julio Rubio - vocals
Pablo Leon - guitar, backing vocals
Juanma Gomez - bass, backing vocals
David R. Forjanes - drums, backing vocals
Vlady Valcarcena - keyboards

Elyte were formed in Madrid, Spain in 1994. After a few years on the demo scene and winning a number of band competitions their full length debut 'Unno' has been released by Vinny Records. Using the past six years to get the material sounding and feeling right has paid off well for this Spanish quintet. Although this album features Spanish-only lyrics, I can guarantee that will be forgotten once you hear the music. Elyte have put together a damn fine album. Each time I listen I find something new and exciting. Supported by a stellar production, these guys from Madrid have a sound that is difficult to pin down.

The Songs
While there is a strong Danger Danger influence there are definitely some tracks that tread the Euro melodic rock path. Opener 'Todo Mi Tiempo' is one such track with some furious riffing akin to Roko's debut. 'Ya Lo Ves' and 'No Te Puedo Dajar Atras', two strong mid-tempo tracks,illustrate the resemblence to Danger Danger's debut. Other tracks with a similar feel and sound are 'Solo En La Cuidad', 'Corazon De Cristal'. 'Muerte', the album's heaviest track and containing a massive chorus, could have come from Pink Cream 69's recent efforts while 'Ya No Queda Nada' is a stunning ballad with subtle yet beautiful keyboards and acoustic guitar. Definitely lighters-in-the- air material. 'Traicion' and 'Juegos Ocultos' rock hard in the Euro vein with Victory and Europe coming to mind. 'Miralo' is, for me, the best track on the album. Although the chorus' on 'Unno' are outstanding, this song stands out for sheer quality. A melodic rock anthem. Straight-ahead AOR best describes 'Corazon De Cristal', while the final two tracks 'Dentro De Mi' and 'Mas Fuerte' round out Elyte's debut on a hard and heavy note. The vocals of Julio Rubio have a distinctive Ted Poley sound while guitarist Pablo Leon puts in a breathtaking performance combining exquisitely tasteful lead breaks with some lightening fast fret work. Both Julio and Pablo are backed up expertly by a strong rhythm section (Juanma and David) and the keyboard work by Vlady Valcarcena also deserves a mention. While the keyboard parts are never brought solely to the fore, they are used well and round out the sound nicely.

In Summary
In my opinion the debut by Elyte ranks up there with some of the best. Whether you prefer US or European style melodic rock really doesn't matter in this case as there is plenty to satisfy any melodic rock fan. Don't let the fact that it isn't sung in English sway you from checking these guys out. It is obvious from the quality of the song writing and production that these guys have put in a huge effort to give you their best, and their best blows away most of the competition. I hope Julio and the boys don't do a Def Leppard and wait another six years before their next release.

Track Listing:
01 Todo Mi Tiempo
02 Ya Lo Ves
03 No Te Puedo Dejar Atras
04 Muerte
05 Ya No Queda Nada
06 Solo En La Cuidad
07 Traicion
08 Juegos Ocultos
09 Miraldo
10 Corazon De Cristal
11 Dentro De Mi
12 Mas Fuerte

Related Articles:

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
Tags: Elyte 
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Articles Cloud
White Wizzard - 2011 Flying Tigers, Wally - 2010 Montpellier, Rogue - 1977 Let It Go, Silverwing - 1983 Alive And Kicking, Parr, John - 1986 Running The Endless Mile, Deep Purple - 1974 Stormbringer, Pantera - 1983 Metal Magic, Radar - 2000 RPM, Chase - 1993 In Pursuit, X-15 - 2007 Interview, Hanoi Rocks - 1984 Two Steps From The Move, Collective Soul - 2001 7even Year Itch, Toxic Shame - 2002 Interview with Jon Buckley and Deon Du Toit, Frederiksen, Fergie - 2013 Any Given Moment, Parsons, Alan (Project) - 1982 Eye In The Sky
Ganafoul Harlan Cage Pavic Bon Jovi Terra Nova Nobodys Fool Patty Smyth Scandal Michael Hayes Badstreet Band FM (UK) Dave Mason Genesis 38 Special Randy Bishop Marty Gwinn Bishop And Gwinn Esquire Yes Minds Eye Chase Pat Travers Band Rock Rose Alan Parsons Alan Parsons Project Treat Tarney Spencer Band John Hampson Robert Tepper Manowar Dreamer (USA) Bente Smaavik Singles Roth Brock Project Terry Brock Rock Candy Records Kick Axe Wounded Bird Harlan Cage Only Child
All Tags
Search DDG