Theme Switcher
Switch to:

Notes about GDM Themes
Click to learn more about GDM themes


Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Stats
Album Reviews: 6860
Comments: 16579
Ratings: 4791
Forum Posts: 21868
Articles Hierarchy
Articles Home » 2000 Articles » Seven Ltd - 2000 Reset Devices
Seven Ltd - 2000 Reset Devices

Carlos 'Ringo' Adalio - vocals
Xavier Martinez - guitars, keyboards
Kyke Serrano - keyboards
Dani Munoz - bass
Lucas Jimenez - drums

All the way from Spain, another excellent continental Euro release to mark the new millenium. Coming at you on a new label courtesy of our good Spanish AOR maniac Vicente Corral Collantes, Seven Ltd display all the hallmarks of the very best melodic and AOR has to offer. They follow on in the great tradition of other Spanish outfits Niagara and more recently La Fase. For a Spanish outfit they do very well to emulate their American heroes, and along those lines the whole package is well put together, the musicianship is solid, arrangements interesting, and best of all, sung in English! I've been playing this album constantly now for the best part of two weeks solid, and it's growing on me all the time. What do we get as a comparison? Well there's Terra Nova for starters, Frontline, and Toto. The stars of the show are guitarist Xavier Martinez who has a penchant for playing in the style of Ian Stewart, Tommy Denander and Robby Boebel (has that got you salivating?) and keyboard wizard Kyke Serrano, a bit of a hero in his homeland, and listening to some of these songs you can see why. He's right up there with the best of them. Singer Carlos Adalio has a voice that is similar to Dennis Churchill-Dries, our friend from White Sister fame, though Seven Ltd's music doesn't quite reach the dizzying pompous heights of that lot.

The Songs
Some of these ten songs are stunning to say the least. The intro on 'Endless Goodbye' leads in with moody atmospheric keyboards before breaking into an AOR anthem similar to Sweden's Street Talk. Next up we get the fantastic 'The Infinity Of Your Smile' where pomp keyboards venture into Terra Nova territory! 'Shine Your Light On Me' is a poppier affair and has some parping keys mixed in with some earthy organ. The ballad 'Worlds Apart' has the obligatory huge chorus and melting moment verses. Great stuff. The band pick up the pace on the racy 'So I Can See' where the keyboard solo duels with the lead guitar. The Terra Nova tag makes a revisit with 'Feel Your Love' complete with guitar and keyboard interplay. Another nice moment is the ballad 'Matter Of Trust' veering right into the path of Mike And The Mechanics material, while 'The Candle' is another fantastic Toto laced ballad to end the album.

In Summary
I am hoping for some great things from these guys, so I hope they can get out and play some gigs over the European summer. In the meantime, get on over to Vinny Records to grab yourself a copy. I don't think you'll be disappointed. If you're into melodic rock with keyboards in the style of the bands named above, you can't go wrong with Seven Ltd. And you'll be supporting Spanish AOR at the same time.

Track Listing:
01 Endless Goodbye
02 The Infinity Of Your Smile
03 Shine Your Light On Me
04 Seven
05 Worlds Apart
06 Man Behind The Mask
07 So I Can See
08 Feel Your Love
09 Matter Of Trust
10 The Candle

Related Articles:

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Search DDG